Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My family love this Sheperd's Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A very satisfying dish that has now become a tradition after serving for the first time this evening. I doubled the recipe and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Wow! Delicious! I was at first quite skeptical , but like other reviewers mentioned, I added lots more seasonings to my preferred taste (pepper, garlic powder, etc.) This was a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes from the nights before dinner :) I was shocked at the outcome- and I even used canned tomatoes, since I had no fresh tomatoes. Also, I substituted the green beans with 1 can of drained corn. Great recipe- thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't think I did things the right way for this. I hadn't made anything like this before, but I inherited a Dutch Oven and thought this might be a great dish to try. It turned out to be a gooey, greasy mess. I don't think I should have left the lid on during the entire baking portion, I probably used ground beef with too much fat, and even though I made a ton of mashed potatoes to go on top they didn't create the correct ratio of beef to potato to veggie. Overall, it was a bland-tasting, yucky, gross-colored first effort. My husband was a great sport, saying that it "wasn't too bad". I'm giving this a 3 because it seems many of the recipes I use through this site are bland, but the bulk of the problem was my error in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Never had shepherd's pie before, but have been wanting to try for a long time. This was a great recipe. Even the kids loved it. As I had no canned or frozen veggies on hand, I used some diced yellow and green squash for the vegetables. I doubled the amount of potatoes as I figured two would not be enough. Glad I did! I blended the potatoes with the egg and water and added some pepper and folded the cheese into them as well. Also, after reading reviews, I added garlic salt and brown gravy (from a packet) to the meat mixture. It made it much more flavorful. The only thing I will change in the future would be to not add the egg, as it made the potatoes more fluffy, but turned the dish into mush. I didn't get the desired crust from them. Also, I had to cook for an additional ten minutes and it still did not brown. When I try again without the egg, maybe it will take less time to crust. Great recipe and very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Mine came out delis! This is a good base recipe. I needed to add more potatoes, because I like to make enough for leftovers. Also, I added my own twist of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Used this recipe with sweet mashed potato to include more fibers. The dish turned out to be very tasty. I also used diced carrots and green bell pepper since I did not have green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megumihaack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I like this recipe I made a few changes .I added 1/2 cup of red wine To the recipe after i stirred in the tomatoes basil and garlic and I let it cook for 10 more minutes till the beef was well done!!!! I also added mushrooms to the mixture. To the mashed potatoes I added some salt and pepper when I was mixing it because otherwise it's to bland in my opinion.Than I put in the oven came out amazing.it gave the recipe some kick! Bon a petit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
kids kinda liked it.... I could make adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great recipe for end of the month waiting on SS check and cleaning out the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States