Ground Beef Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This is a good recipe. I didn't have noodles or green onions so I used elbow macaroni and a medium chopped onion instead. I sauteed the pepper and onion in 1T of vegetable oil for a few minutes. Then I added the ground beef and a packet of Taco seasoning mix. I used an entire jar of salsa, a heaping half cup of reduced fat sour cream and I didn't measure the shredded cheese. I just added as much as I liked on the top of the dish. I used a mexican blend of shredded cheese. This made more than four servings as I believe the macaroni made more than the noodles would have. Plus I used a large pepper. This was very tasty. Everyone liked it. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was extremely good! I did make a lot of changes to suit my taste. I added 1 very large clove of garlic (minced), to the ground beef, when I browned it. I used 90% lean meat. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 Tbls. chili powder and 1/2 tsp. ground cumin. I also added 1 small can of mild chopped green chilies. I didn't drain the meat after browning and I omitted the water. I served it over egg noodles with sour cream and shredded muenster cheese. If you love beef stroganoff and if you love chili...you'll love this dish, because it tastes like chili stroganoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Was a little bland for me. I like the idea of adding a package of taco seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
My husband and I thought this a bit bland. I doubled the sour cream and added 1/2 cup more salsa with cilantro, as well as chili powder. I also tossed in a can of drained niblet corn and mixed in the cheese. I added the green peppers and onions right after cooking the meat as they needed longer to cook as well as for the flavors to be absorbed. Definately a quick and easy recipe. Will make again on a busy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This recipe was not as great as I thought it was going to be.1st of all,it was alot more work than it looked.Chopping the onion,gr.pepper,boiling the noodles,browning the meat,wow...that's alot of time for a weekday supper,which is when I made this. The noodles/mexican combo didn't really work for me either. Nobody in my family was raving over it. I have leftovers in my fridge as I write this.Sorry,just too much work for a so/so meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe! It taste even better the next day! My husband and I don't eat white pasta so I added some penne whole grain Healthy Harvest noodles. We both like spicy foods so we used a very spicy salsa. I have also made it at our family night dinner and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aShlEy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was awesome!! When I served it to my husband, he took a couple of bites and said, "This would be better with crunched up Doritos on top!" We tried and both agreed. Thanks for the recipe...it will stay in our recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Yummy! Changed it up slightly. First sautéed fresh yellow onion and garlic. Added the beef and cooked it with paprika and red pepper flakes. Next threw in the bell pepper and green onion. Added the salsa and instead of water used beef broth. As I only had macaroni on hand that is what I used. Very tasty and quick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Pretty good comfort food. I used hot, chunky salsa and 1 cup of cheese. Half a cup of cheese is not enough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Really great recipe. I followed the recs on more salsa and the taco seasoning. I also added a lot of corn. I think this dish would be great with chicken or as a vegetarian dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Ground Beef

See how to beef up a meal with versatile ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States