Ground Beef Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was really good. I used ground turkey instead and it turned out well. I had a can of Herdez green chile salsa (7oz) and used that and omitted the tomatoes only because I didn't have them on hand. Used fat free sour cream, added garlic powder and used a white onion instead of green due to preference. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was extremely good! I did make a lot of changes to suit my taste. I added 1 very large clove of garlic (minced), to the ground beef, when I browned it. I used 90% lean meat. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 Tbls. chili powder and 1/2 tsp. ground cumin. I also added 1 small can of mild chopped green chilies. I didn't drain the meat after browning and I omitted the water. I served it over egg noodles with sour cream and shredded muenster cheese. If you love beef stroganoff and if you love chili...you'll love this dish, because it tastes like chili stroganoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Pretty good! I made a lot of changes though, based on making it healthier and the ingredients I had on hand. 1) I used ground turkey instead, and used 1.5lbs. 2) I used 12 oz of Healthy Harvest Egg noodles. 3) I added 1 can of corn. 4) I used light sour cream. 5) I added 1/2 a pack of fajita seasoning and some extra cayenne pepper 6) I transferred everything into a 9x13, topped with organic blue tortilla crumbles (2 oz) and cheese (2% milk, 1 cup) and broiled for a couple of minutes 7) Made to serve 6 instead of 4 b/c of added noodles and meat 8) Topped with tomato and green part of green onions I think that adding black beans would be good as well but I didn't do that this time. 1 serving was 540 calories, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
i thought that it was just ok, but my boyfriend really injoyed it so much. Its definitly something that i'm going to make again sometime soon. Thnks for the wonderfull recipe It was a great supper idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Hildebrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
husband said its a keeper. I did add cumin to the hambuger while browning and topped with crushed corn chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Really good! Used when I was in a rush and needed to use up ground beef. I used brown rice instead of noodles. I also mixed in a packet of taco seasoning when I added the salsa. Family loved it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought this was very bland. I followed the other suggestions, such as adding cream cheese, crumbling tortilla chips and lettuce on top, etc. but still found it needed something. I think green chiles would be a good additon as well. I used pico de gallo instead of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
thought this was a tasty use for ground beef, thanks Kris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe! It taste even better the next day! My husband and I don't eat white pasta so I added some penne whole grain Healthy Harvest noodles. We both like spicy foods so we used a very spicy salsa. I have also made it at our family night dinner and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aShlEy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was pretty good. We served over saffron rice (gluten intolerance) and I used green chiles instead of green peppers. Fresh tomatoes would definitely be better but all I had was canned. Being is easy to make is the best feature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States