Ground Beef Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great taste and quick to make. Did not have gound beef so used gound venison. Used a spicey salsa for some bite. Mixed bell peppers which added lots of color. Chopped up a large white onion as I did not have enough green ones(used them as a garnish instead)and fried them up with the meat. I also used a few cloves of garlic minced. Replaced the egg noodles with multigrain fusilli and used fat free sour cream to cut down on some of the damage. :o) Though I did up the cheese to a cup as others had suggested. Will be sure to make this again and next time for company....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is excellent and its very easy to make.I added taco seasoning and I used broth instead of water. Top it off with cilantro and you have a very tasty dish. I also subbed whole wheat noodles instead of egg noodles and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AV8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Gotta say, it was great! I'm not a mega cook by any stretch of the imagination, but this was easy and turned out phenomenally! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wow, we were pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I made this because we were running low on groceries and did not feel like a trip to the store. I made this pretty much as written, however I did add a packet of taco seasoning and I kept the noodles, cheese and sour cream separate so everyone put as much or as little as they liked. My very skeptical husband actually said, 'what in the world is this?' when he saw what I had made...then kept saying 'man, this is so good, make this again!' after he tried it! The kids loved it and so did I. This is a nice change of pace, will make again. Adding a packet of taco seasoning is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fast and easy. I will make it spicier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good. However, I added a few seasoning to give it more flavor. When the ground beef was cooking I added: chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, onion powder and Tony's Chachere seasoning. Instead of water, I used beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carencro, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We loved this recipe. Such a nice change from regular pasta. I used yellow peppers, red onion and mushrooms because that's what I had on hand. Next time I'll try the veggies that recipe calls for. I also used some taco seasoning as recommended in the comments. It was easy to make a healthier version with whole wheat noodles, low fat sour cream and cheese. My family asked to make this one a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was really good. I used ground turkey instead and it turned out well. I had a can of Herdez green chile salsa (7oz) and used that and omitted the tomatoes only because I didn't have them on hand. Used fat free sour cream, added garlic powder and used a white onion instead of green due to preference. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was extremely good! I did make a lot of changes to suit my taste. I added 1 very large clove of garlic (minced), to the ground beef, when I browned it. I used 90% lean meat. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 Tbls. chili powder and 1/2 tsp. ground cumin. I also added 1 small can of mild chopped green chilies. I didn't drain the meat after browning and I omitted the water. I served it over egg noodles with sour cream and shredded muenster cheese. If you love beef stroganoff and if you love chili...you'll love this dish, because it tastes like chili stroganoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Pretty good! I made a lot of changes though, based on making it healthier and the ingredients I had on hand. 1) I used ground turkey instead, and used 1.5lbs. 2) I used 12 oz of Healthy Harvest Egg noodles. 3) I added 1 can of corn. 4) I used light sour cream. 5) I added 1/2 a pack of fajita seasoning and some extra cayenne pepper 6) I transferred everything into a 9x13, topped with organic blue tortilla crumbles (2 oz) and cheese (2% milk, 1 cup) and broiled for a couple of minutes 7) Made to serve 6 instead of 4 b/c of added noodles and meat 8) Topped with tomato and green part of green onions I think that adding black beans would be good as well but I didn't do that this time. 1 serving was 540 calories, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States