Ground Beef Curly Noodle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This gets 5 stars not necessarily because of its gourmet flavor, but because of the perfect combination of ease of preparation, cost, flavor, family friendliness, etc. etc. etc. Definitely going to be a "pantry staple" in our house. We used ground turkey, two packs of Ramen (only 1 packet of seasoning), the corn and tomatoes specified, and a few frozen green peas thrown in with the noodles for some color. We also sprinkled cheese on top before serving. The only dishes to clean: our eating bowls and utensils, the one pot and spoon used during prep, and ourselves! Thanks for the recipe--this will trump ordering pizza or Chinese takeout next time we're wanting a break from my normal whole grains/low sodium/high veggie meals :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
For what this dish consists of, it is WAY more delicious than it has any right to be. I was looking for something easy to toss together after a late day at work, and this more than fit the bill! The only real change I made was using a can of (Rotel brand) tomatoes with green chilies. It gave it just a little extra kick. I used 2 packages of noodles (with an extra 3/4c water to compensate) and about a packet and a half of seasoning - perfect! I think the key to getting the noodles to cook properly is remembering to COVER when you simmer. The steam gives them a delicious, chewy, al dente texture. The only reason I didn't rate this one 5 Stars was the lack of visual appeal. It's not pretty, but don't be fooled - IT'S DELICIOUS! I raved, Boyfriend raved, and we will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is wonderful. I have made it two times, and my family really gobbles it up. The first time I made it with beef flavored oriental noodles, and it came out good. I had seasoned the ground beef while cooking, and it was too seasoned when done. I used two pkgs of noodles and ended up cooking another bag afterwards to add to the pan. The second time, I made it with the oriental flavored noodles, and I did not season the ground beef while cooking. I used three pkgs oriental noodles crushed. My husband said it was better. Therefore, next time, I will not season the ground beef while cooking, and I will use 3 pkgs noodles. I will use 2 cans diced tomatoes, and 1 can corn. This will be a commonly found dish at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Best described as PWT (Poor White Trash) food. In this case, mixing substandard ingredients together does not improve their quality. I think a much better meal would have been to just make hamburger patties and serve the vegetables and prepared soup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is a very kid friendly dish. I used frozen corn (no canned), 1 can of beef broth, and 1 can of stewed tomatoes (run through the chopper) as I had no diced. I used 2 pkg beef flavored ramen noodles. The next time I make it I'll use the oriental. I put a dash of soy sauce and dash of worshestire sauce while cooking. I served with some shredded monteray jack cheese w/jalepanos for the adults. Good comfort food and easy to prepare. I will make this again. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
When I presented the meal, my kids said "no way!" I talked them into one bite, and then I couldn't stop them! I used 2 pkgs. beef ramen noodles, but only one flavor packet. I also used the Italian seasoned diced tomatoes. My husband and I added hot sauce to ours--I'm sure salsa would be great as well. This is an easy, filling recipe. I'm definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I had to laugh when I read the Poor White Trash review lol. I guess I am poor white trash then because my kids love the ramen noodles and they love hamburger! I've made this a few times for them and they seem to gobble it up! I sometimes add other veggies to it, like thinly sliced carrots, broccoli and even zucchini. At our house we call it "Yucky Noodles" and it looks yucky, bu they love it! Viva Poor White Trash recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This one is super easy. SOOO EASY !! I did change it up though I added peas and carrots (for nutritional value) since non is found in corn.. ,used chicken flavor(what i had on hand) and doubled the recipe. My kids 3 & 4 loved it; So did my hubby and I. Thanks for such a tasty and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Wow...I was very skeptical about this one but after reading all the great reviews I gave it a shot and...it was FANTASTIC and FLAVORFUL! I added some garlic and onions to the beef as well as some salt and pepper, used 2 packs of Oriental Mr. Noodles with their seasoning packets, and added a bit of chicken broth as the mixture looked too dry to cook the noodles. Oh and I also threw in a pinch or two of sugar. I think I might cook the noodles separately next time and then throw them in once they are softened...might be easier and quicker. I'd give this 5 stars if only it looked prettier. Tasted great and husband enjoyed several servings of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Ive made this a few times when its time for me to go shopping again and all I have is ground beef left. I laughed when I saw what EMENDEZ wrote, if they can screw this up that bad, they shouldn't be cooking! Thanks for the recipe anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States