Ground Beef Bar-b-que Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY FAMILY! WE LOVED IT! WAY TO GO! EVERYTHING WAS THE RIGHT MEASUREMENT! DON'T CHANGE A THING! MY 4 YEAR OLD HAD PICKED OUT THAT GREEN KETCHUP, I USED IT. MY WHOLE FAMILY HAD A GOOD LAUGH. I PLAN TO SHARE THIS RECIPE WITH MY MOM, SISTERS, GRAMMY, AND IN-LAWS. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
1 simple change.... Do not make patties. Change this to a "loose meat" burger and it's perfect. Just saute the onions and bell pepper with the meat and mix the other ingredients in a separate bowl and once the meat is cooked, add the remaining ingrediants and simmer for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Love this! So yummy! Took the idea to add honey and brown sugar...great addition...we loved it and I found that the ingredients were all things that I typically have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was really good and easy! I made it as a loose meat sandwhich with ground turkey. I found that I wanted to double the sauce but when I did that it was too vinegary so I ended up adding some honey and brown sugar. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
By using other viewer's suggestions of additional ingredients (honey, brown sugar)plus making this into a loose sloppy-joe type mixture made this recipe out of sight! My whole family loved it! Most of my kids wouldn't eat Manwich anymore so I was really hoping that they would like this. For 2 1/3 lbs. ground beef, I used 6-7 Tbsp ketchup, 3 Tbsp mustard, 1 1/2 Tbsp worcestershire, 2 Tbsp vinegar, 3 Tbsp honey, 3 Tbsp brown sugar, 1/2 cp finely chopped onion, 1/2 cp finely chopped green pepper. Seasoned with approx. 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and black pepper to taste. In skillet, brown hamburger and drain. In seperate bowl, mix all wet ingredients & brown sugar until blended. Put onion and gr. pepper in skillet, add mixture and drained hamburger and mix well. Heat on med-hi until hot (about 5 min) then turn down and simmer for about 20 min. Stir occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Made as a loose burger (Manwich-style). Substituted soy sauce for worsh. Added garlic powder. Served to kids over rice. Served for myself over chopped, raw spinach. Even my picky eater cleaned her bowl! Needs a little kick (probably would have come from the worch, but was out). Next time will add a little pepper or try doing with bbq sauce instead of ketchup. Otherwise, fast and so easy to do. Has been added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Fit a quick, inexpensive meal to the tee! I made this loose meat and changed it according to what I had on hand (no peppers so I omitted them altogether, red wine instead of white vinegar). I also took others' suggestions and added garlic, honey, and brown sugar along with a dash of garlic and onion seasoning, but I really don't think you could mess this one up. It was very versatile. It could easily be more sweet or more spicy according to your taste. Thank you. I'll definately be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Took suggestions from others and made this as sloppy joes. My family loved it and oh-so easy! We used a red pepper, just our preference. Simple, fast and delicious! We all went back for seconds, which makes it 5 stars no matter how you cook it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very tasty when served as a meat patty, however putting it on a bun with toppings wasn't so good. My husband thought red bell pepper rather than green would improve the flavor. I think this might be better baked into a meatloaf rather than grilled as a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used ground turkey instead of beef, and left out the onion and bell pepper ( I would have included them if I had the ingredients). I used 1 tbs ketchup, 1 tbs yellow mustard, 1 tbs bbq sauce, 1 tbs worcestershire, 1 tbs brown sugar and a sprinkle of garlic and onion powder. The kids loved it. I also made it more like 'sloppy joes' instead of patties. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States