Ground Beef Bar-b-que Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
YUCK!!! IF YOU MAKE THIS AS IT IS GIVEN YOU HAVE A MEAT SOUP! WE ADDED AN EXTRA POUND OF BEEF AND STILL ADDED CRACKER CRUMBS TO TRY AND THICKEN. NO DICE!! I THINK IF YOU CUT THE CATSUP DOWN AND ADD SOME SAUSAGE IT WOULD MAKE A GREAT MEATBALL BUT BURGERS, NO WAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY FAMILY! WE LOVED IT! WAY TO GO! EVERYTHING WAS THE RIGHT MEASUREMENT! DON'T CHANGE A THING! MY 4 YEAR OLD HAD PICKED OUT THAT GREEN KETCHUP, I USED IT. MY WHOLE FAMILY HAD A GOOD LAUGH. I PLAN TO SHARE THIS RECIPE WITH MY MOM, SISTERS, GRAMMY, AND IN-LAWS. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
I doubled the serving to 8 and used 2 lbs. ground beef. The flavor was great but the burgers were very crumbly and a bit hard to keep together on the grill. Overall I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
1 simple change.... Do not make patties. Change this to a "loose meat" burger and it's perfect. Just saute the onions and bell pepper with the meat and mix the other ingredients in a separate bowl and once the meat is cooked, add the remaining ingrediants and simmer for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe tasted good, but was a big mess in the end. They wouldn't stay together at all. We even tried to add eggs and bread crumbs. But I do have to say I will make it again but I won't even try to make a patty out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
A little messy to make, it was almost too soupy for the burgers to hold together. I think you need to cut back on ketchup, dice the onion instead of grating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used this recipe but made a few changes, first it was to cold outside to grill, so i boiled my ground beef and drained, then put it in a large saucepan with all other ingredients and made a loose bbq sandwich, it was'nt messy and boiling the beef gets rid of ALOT of the grease. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
After reading the reviews and how people said their patties fell apart, I decided to try this recipe as a meatloaf instead. It too fell apart. My family wasn't crazy about the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tried this and had to make a few adjustments to taste. I had to cut back on the worcestershire to 1/2 a tbsp and then added 1 Tbsp honey,1 Tbsp brown sugar,and 1 1/2Tbsp prepared bbq sauce. It seemed dry to me so I added double everything except the meat. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
By using other viewer's suggestions of additional ingredients (honey, brown sugar)plus making this into a loose sloppy-joe type mixture made this recipe out of sight! My whole family loved it! Most of my kids wouldn't eat Manwich anymore so I was really hoping that they would like this. For 2 1/3 lbs. ground beef, I used 6-7 Tbsp ketchup, 3 Tbsp mustard, 1 1/2 Tbsp worcestershire, 2 Tbsp vinegar, 3 Tbsp honey, 3 Tbsp brown sugar, 1/2 cp finely chopped onion, 1/2 cp finely chopped green pepper. Seasoned with approx. 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and black pepper to taste. In skillet, brown hamburger and drain. In seperate bowl, mix all wet ingredients & brown sugar until blended. Put onion and gr. pepper in skillet, add mixture and drained hamburger and mix well. Heat on med-hi until hot (about 5 min) then turn down and simmer for about 20 min. Stir occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States