Ground Beef Bar-b-que Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Fit a quick, inexpensive meal to the tee! I made this loose meat and changed it according to what I had on hand (no peppers so I omitted them altogether, red wine instead of white vinegar). I also took others' suggestions and added garlic, honey, and brown sugar along with a dash of garlic and onion seasoning, but I really don't think you could mess this one up. It was very versatile. It could easily be more sweet or more spicy according to your taste. Thank you. I'll definately be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I don't know. This just didn't turn out very well. My husband seemed to like it, but it wasn't really up to my tastes. Also, I did it loose meat, and it was really really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made these as loose hamburgers as other reviewers did. I never really cared too much for sloppy joes, but this is a great alternative. Both of my kids loved it, so I guess it's keeper! Very quick and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Made as a loose burger (Manwich-style). Substituted soy sauce for worsh. Added garlic powder. Served to kids over rice. Served for myself over chopped, raw spinach. Even my picky eater cleaned her bowl! Needs a little kick (probably would have come from the worch, but was out). Next time will add a little pepper or try doing with bbq sauce instead of ketchup. Otherwise, fast and so easy to do. Has been added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It tasted like terribly bland meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I wish I had taken the time to read the reviews before attempting to make patties for the grill. I asked my husband if he knew how to make smoke signals! Ha! Good flavor, but a mess to deal with in grilling. I'll use the recipe again, but try it as sloppy joes or meatloaf as suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I really liked the flavor and they were very juicy and easy to do but the hamburgers kept falling apart. I added an egg to the mix and that seemed to help a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was really good and easy! I made it as a loose meat sandwhich with ground turkey. I found that I wanted to double the sauce but when I did that it was too vinegary so I ended up adding some honey and brown sugar. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
By using other viewer's suggestions of additional ingredients (honey, brown sugar)plus making this into a loose sloppy-joe type mixture made this recipe out of sight! My whole family loved it! Most of my kids wouldn't eat Manwich anymore so I was really hoping that they would like this. For 2 1/3 lbs. ground beef, I used 6-7 Tbsp ketchup, 3 Tbsp mustard, 1 1/2 Tbsp worcestershire, 2 Tbsp vinegar, 3 Tbsp honey, 3 Tbsp brown sugar, 1/2 cp finely chopped onion, 1/2 cp finely chopped green pepper. Seasoned with approx. 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and black pepper to taste. In skillet, brown hamburger and drain. In seperate bowl, mix all wet ingredients & brown sugar until blended. Put onion and gr. pepper in skillet, add mixture and drained hamburger and mix well. Heat on med-hi until hot (about 5 min) then turn down and simmer for about 20 min. Stir occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tried this and had to make a few adjustments to taste. I had to cut back on the worcestershire to 1/2 a tbsp and then added 1 Tbsp honey,1 Tbsp brown sugar,and 1 1/2Tbsp prepared bbq sauce. It seemed dry to me so I added double everything except the meat. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States