Groovy Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is surprisingly good, and very good for you. I've tried it as is, and altered it some; it has room for experimenting. I will say it can have a tart/acidic feel in your mouth because of combination of grapes and spinach. Also, I would blend it for a long time to make sure there are no chunks of grape or apple skin. Maybe try it at a holiday, like St. Patrick's day, Easter, or Halloween, and they'll be hooked from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Even after reading the reviews... I just couldn't believe that you couldn't taste the spinach. But with the banana...you can't! :) I chose mango and blackberries for my first try- it came out red. Also, I tried adding flaxseeds... yuck. I won't do that again. Maybe adding flaxseed meal would be better. I can't wait to try different versions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Good base for a fun recipe. Feel free to play with this recipe with whatever fruits that you have on hand. I have used different mixtures of strawberries, blueberries, mango, pineapple,half banana, etc. I also use nonfat vanilla yogurt (delicious) and skim milk or light vanilla soymilk. Add at least 2c of fresh spinach, you won't even taste the difference. Adding 1T of ground flaxseed provides even more health benefits than what is already there. Have fun with this recipe & enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Was pretty good. My son drank about half a glass full, and he hates spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Szymanski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I doubled the recipe because I have a Home Daycare and needed enough for all of the kids. We all loved it! I wasn't sure how it would go with it being green but that just made it more exciting for the kids! It's very filling so they didn't even want a snack after gulping this down. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
fantastic, I add frozen strawberries and wheat germ, agave, orange juice.. my kids LOVED this.. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Wow this is DELISH!!! Im a smoothie fanatic and always lookin for new ideas... I followed the recipe and added some ice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I haven't made this particular recipe but a variation. I am reluctant to recommend using flavored yogurts because of the addicitives, especially corn and high fructose corn syrups. It defeats the purpose of eating healthily when processed sweeteners are consumed. Of course, moderation is the key but so many processed foods contain those ingredients it is hard to practice moderation. Read lables and opt for honey, stevia and agave for a sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I DO RECOMMEND if the skins bother you (if you forgot to skin the apple or the skins from the grapes bother you), stain the mixture. Well worth that little bit of work. Very Good, very sweet. I used about 3 cups of grapes just because I had that much and they were about to turn. And a whole apple. I could not taste the spinach (or banana) but it felt good to know it was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wow! A hit at breakfast for my 5 and 3 year olds! I didn't have grapes, so I used the whole apple (peeled, cored and chopped) and I used strawberry yogurt. Will definitely make again and again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States