Groovy Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was way better than I expected it to be!! I will admit I was a little nervous I was going to waste all my fruit doing this, but it turned out great! I made it exactly as written except I added 2 apples & some ice cubes to thicken it up. I am amazed at how I don't even taste the spinach! It looks really nasty but it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aLittleDessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved these! Kids never suspected a thing. Hahaha I love it! I even added neon blue to try to tint it blue but it just made it a cool shade of grass green. So I quickly pulled out a bottle of yellow before the kids got home. It wasn't as smooth as a smoothie but the taste was great. The kids wanted them again for spring, St. Patricks Day, and as Green Goblin Goo for Halloween! Spinach!...who would have thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Add blueberries and it won't look green! Although, you could get a lot of mileage out of Shrek and a green smoothie ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I really thought this was a great breakfast/snack shake - I did mine with all the same fruits/spinach but subbed greek yogurt with vanilla extract and agave nectar mixed in it. I liked it but it was definitely "pulpy" from not peeling the apple. Today I made it again, but added a big handful of ice cubes and peeled my apple - MUCH better! My 18 month old LOVED it and even my picky husband said it was good. I found that if I toss in 1/2 the apple, the grapes, half the yogurt and then 1/2 the spinach and blend then do everything else and blend again, it worked much better. I let it sit on blend for a good 5 mins to really get the chunks out. This is definitely going to be a staple of my diet going forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I thought this was a great idea, and a good base recipe that you can use to suit your own tastes. I have tried various versions - with vanilla flavoured yogurt, with tropical yogurt blend, with/without apple, etc....and I haven't really had a bad batch yet. My only tip is to use frozen spinach and not dethaw it. I just put it in with my ice and blend it, then add the rest of my ingredients and it turns out yummy....AND HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I didn't follow the exact recipe, followed some suggestions and ended up using half a banana, one apple, pealed and chunked, half a pear, 1 cup spinach, 1/4 cup ice cubes, 1/4 cup plain yogurt, 1 tsp flaxseed, and 1/2 tsp agave nectar (or you could use honey). It was surprisingly delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent smoothie! I was a little nervous how this would taste because I only had plain greek yogurt, so I mixed a little vanilla extract and honey into the yogurt before I put it in the blender. I also added some ice, but that is the only changes I made. Very very tasty and healthy! Thank you, my kids love it! (and so do I)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe for a healthy smoothie. You have to add a bit of liquid, so I added some milk and poured it over ice. Next time I am going to freeze the grapes they night bedfore and see what that does to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Advance, Missouri, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Anything that gets my child to eat spinach gets 5 stars. She made this with me, helped pile in the spinach, took a deep breath and drank it. And loved it! YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States