Groovy Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is tastey, but a little too sweet for me. Next time I would use a plain yogurt instead of a vanilla favored one, and I would control the sweetness by using honey or agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've only tried it once and I eyeballed the ingredients. I used one organic kiwi, one organic mandarin orange from our backyard (seeds and all), one yellow organic heirloom carrot, one green tomato (origin unknown), one old dehydrated looking conventional green bell pepper, some organic vanilla Trader Joe's yogurt, 3 or 4 handfuls of organic spinach, and about 6 or 7 ice cubes. It tasted fine but next time I'll only put in one handful of spinach. I love spinach but I did put too much in even for my taste. All my ingredients were raw but I may try to blanch my spinach first as others have suggested to see if it makes for a smoother blend. I used a vintage 10 speed Osterizer blender and only blended for about one minute. I'm happy to use our blender for healthy smoothie drinks! I will be making more smoothies as time goes by. I forgot to add my chia seeds for my first drink so they will get thrown in next time I use the blender. UPDATE: I've since tried the following ingredients: organic celery, organic baby greens, organic heirloom carrots, organic chia seeds, Trader Joe's organic vanilla soymilk. Wow, this second smoothie tastes so much better than the first one I made. It has just the right amount of sweetness and healthy "green" taste to it. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joomi Lee
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
taste great. But seedless grapes and peeled apples for me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Absolutely fantastic!!! I added a little bit of coconut oil, so yummy! And the whole family loves it, they don't even realize how good it is for them & that there's vegetables in it ha! Just make sure you blend very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great tasting healthy smoothie! I added more banana (I used two because I love bananas) and more apple. Also I would use half the spinach or less and add OJ as one reviewer suggested. I only added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup OJ (depends how thick you want the smoothie), and I also added two cubes of ice as another person suggested. Since I didn't have vanilla flavored yogurt I used plain Greek and added a touch of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nusaiba Mubarak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Best smoothie ever! Can't even taste the spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Didn't even know the spinach was there....delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is my first green smoothie ever.. the colour was always a turn off!! But it was time to break the ice n HOW??!!! I love this smoothie... I just used plain fat free yogurt instead of the vanilla yogurt n tastes just AWESOME! I can barely taste the spinach in there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
So I made this recipe exactly as the recipe calls for. But, as someone who does not like bananas at all it wasn't quite for me. I also did not like having chunks of grape skin in my smoothie. However I did alter it some and then I loved it!!! I have a juicer, so I juiced two medium apples with the spinach and grapes. I dumped that into my blender with some honey Greek yogurt and ice. Tasted amazing!! And I got the added hidden nutrients from juicing all the fruit and spinach. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mambort
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I substituted the spinach with kale because I didn't have any spinach. My blender is small so it took a little longer to blend. I like the taste of it, but it's a little too thick as there are some chewy bits in it. Great recipe the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States