Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I tried this recipe today and I loved it!!!! I made only 1/2 of the batch and it was enough for what I needed it for. FYI...1 pound of powdered sugar is about 3 1/2 cups. I added some food coloring for a festive touch and some sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Dischinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've tried several basic buttercream frostings from this site and this is one of the best. I made half the recipe, which frosted a dozen cupcakes generously. I did modify it a bit, however - I used hi-ratio shortening, clear vanilla and one egg white to replace the 2 T. water in a half recipe. I find that hi-ratio shortening is best for frostings because it seems sturdier, creamier, and less greasy tasting. I beat the frosting on low speed (Speed 2 on the KitchenAid) for 10 minutes. This frosting is excellent, particularly on the chocolate cupcakes I used it for. Fluffy, delicious, perfect for decorating if you like, and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by BB34
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is my "go to" recipe when decorating cakes. I like that it uses real butter and not just flavoring. This is usually enough to frost, fill and decorate up to a 12x18 cake. Any leftover freezes well. Next time you need some, let it thaw on the counter for 1/2 hour or so. You can rewhip it if you need to, but it doesnt usually need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I LOVE THIS FROSTING!!! It came out spectacular. Used only one tablespoon of water instead of two, also added just a little hint of pure orange extract. Try many extracts for variations. Used it to frost cookies, stayed soft enough to enjoy, but hardened just enough so it wasn't messy. I won't be using Duncan Hines to frost my cookies anymore! Also, I used an eclectic hand mixer and cut the recipe way way down, makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I am one of those people who *calls* the corner piece of cake w/all the balloons/flowers (which means LOTS of frosting), so when I saw this recipe I knew I wanted to try it. I finally made it this evening and it really is just like grocery store buttercream frosting. I followed the recipe, though I didn't measure the 10X sugar. I also added a little milk to the color I was using to frost the entire cake to make it a little more smooth (no milk necessary for the piping colors). TY for a great recipe! UPDATE: I have to agree w/the other reviewer who stated it tasted different the next day on the cake; she's not nuts, it does!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very easy to make and hardened a bit when left in the air which was what I wanted. If you are going to use food coloring in it, leave it very thick before adding coloring. I used the gel coloring so it wouldn't be too watery but still found that by the time I'd added the food coloring, the icing wasn't quite thick enough to pipe nicely anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This just takes a long time to beat, but the more beating the better it is. Makes more than 2 cups when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is my absolute favorite frosting! What ever flavor instead of vanilla, I use almond, peppermint, very versitile frosting!! I use this recipe for all birthdays, fillings, even for our county fair. I get great ravs using this recipe! TY!! Update: after making this for years..my dd's tastes buds have changed-stating too sweet..so I modified switching out the water to whole milk-5 tbsp and modified directions to make it more professional since now taking cake orders-using my KA, beat on medium high butter and shortening. Add little at a time, sugar and continue to beat and scrape down till adding one tbsp at a time alternating the sugar and milk and finally beating after fully incorporating, beat on high for about 15 minutes. This definitely makes this more fluffier, creamier, less sweet, easier to pipe! Still love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was very good, but not quite like my local grocery store. I'm looking for something with a little less butter flavor. The cake cuts beautifully from the refrigerator, however and has a not too sweet flavor. My hubby loved it, so I will definately make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I thought this recipe was easy and has an absolutely accurate name! My husband loves grocery store cakes just because of their frosting-and was surprised to find I could make it at home! Thanks for this great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States