Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Worked great!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Sexton Spence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
YUM! Great frosting! excellent flavor and texture! I think the only thing missing that might put it over the top and truly give it that "grocery store" flavor would be a pinch of almond extract and I plan on trying that next time. Can't wait to use this recipe on my Xmas cookies this year! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Don't tell my Nonna this, but your frosting is the best I have ever had. I made it last night for my hubby's welcome home cake and everyone fell in love with the taste. It made enough to generously frost two 9x13in sheet cakes. I used butter flavored shortening. Next time I will use clear vanilla extract to keep the frosting a whiter color. Mine came out ivory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have tried about 3 or 4 buttercream recipes and ths is now the one I will turn to. I think the shortening is definitely whats lacking in the other recipes. This is the consistency I have been searching for and the right amount of butter for the amount of powdered sugar to make sure it isn't bone tingling sweet. 5 stars well deserved. A must if you're piping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've tried several basic buttercream frostings from this site and this is one of the best. I made half the recipe, which frosted a dozen cupcakes generously. I did modify it a bit, however - I used hi-ratio shortening, clear vanilla and one egg white to replace the 2 T. water in a half recipe. I find that hi-ratio shortening is best for frostings because it seems sturdier, creamier, and less greasy tasting. I beat the frosting on low speed (Speed 2 on the KitchenAid) for 10 minutes. This frosting is excellent, particularly on the chocolate cupcakes I used it for. Fluffy, delicious, perfect for decorating if you like, and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I am a frosting person. Finding this recipe excited me. . . I am so sick of butter cream! I've used it twice now. The main thing that I learned the first time: CUT DOWN ON THE VANILLA. Also, it tastes better the next day. Overall, I'm pretty happy with it. It was fantastic on sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I expected a sweet frosting but this was just inedible for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Best recipe for frosting i have used yet...ended up adding about 2 tbsp more of water at the end to get the consistency i wanted. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSY8856
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Great frosting! I did add a little more confectionary sugar to make it stiffer for decorating purposes, but loved it. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSY8856

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States