Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Worked great!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Sexton Spence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
YUM! Great frosting! excellent flavor and texture! I think the only thing missing that might put it over the top and truly give it that "grocery store" flavor would be a pinch of almond extract and I plan on trying that next time. Can't wait to use this recipe on my Xmas cookies this year! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Don't tell my Nonna this, but your frosting is the best I have ever had. I made it last night for my hubby's welcome home cake and everyone fell in love with the taste. It made enough to generously frost two 9x13in sheet cakes. I used butter flavored shortening. Next time I will use clear vanilla extract to keep the frosting a whiter color. Mine came out ivory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have tried about 3 or 4 buttercream recipes and ths is now the one I will turn to. I think the shortening is definitely whats lacking in the other recipes. This is the consistency I have been searching for and the right amount of butter for the amount of powdered sugar to make sure it isn't bone tingling sweet. 5 stars well deserved. A must if you're piping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've tried several basic buttercream frostings from this site and this is one of the best. I made half the recipe, which frosted a dozen cupcakes generously. I did modify it a bit, however - I used hi-ratio shortening, clear vanilla and one egg white to replace the 2 T. water in a half recipe. I find that hi-ratio shortening is best for frostings because it seems sturdier, creamier, and less greasy tasting. I beat the frosting on low speed (Speed 2 on the KitchenAid) for 10 minutes. This frosting is excellent, particularly on the chocolate cupcakes I used it for. Fluffy, delicious, perfect for decorating if you like, and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I am a frosting person. Finding this recipe excited me. . . I am so sick of butter cream! I've used it twice now. The main thing that I learned the first time: CUT DOWN ON THE VANILLA. Also, it tastes better the next day. Overall, I'm pretty happy with it. It was fantastic on sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I expected a sweet frosting but this was just inedible for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Best recipe for frosting i have used yet...ended up adding about 2 tbsp more of water at the end to get the consistency i wanted. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSY8856
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Great frosting! I did add a little more confectionary sugar to make it stiffer for decorating purposes, but loved it. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSY8856

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States