Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This worked perfectly... and was easy to modify as I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutter Creek, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The 2 lbs of sugar was WAY to much. 1.5 c of powdered sugar worked for me. But I'm using Spectrum Organic All Vegetable shortening instead of lard, so I'm not sure if that made a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Outstanding. It really should be called "Bakery Frosting" as it's not the greasy mess most grocery stores would sell anyway! Definitely a keeper. Don't forget the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good and easy to make, and made a ton. I made it for a birthday cake and everyone raved about the frosting. Wasn't too sweet, just right. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The Best Frosting Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My bf likes store bought cake bacaus eof the icing. I hate store bought cake. This icing tastes like store boought cake. Be sure to beat it alot. It's a great conistency for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wow wow wow!! Fantastic icing!!! I didn't have enough shortening and used 3 sticks of blue bonnet!! So simple and makes a ton of icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Coconut Oil worked well as a substitute for shortening, as shortening is not readily available where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is the best frosting I have ever made. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I cut the recipe in 1/2 and it was more than enough to frost 40 sugar cookies. I can't describe this little piece of heaven adequately, but let me just say that it's the best frosting I've ever made and it's just so easy. The mix of shortening and butter is the key and the list of ingredients is absolutely perfect. No extra anything needed. I did tint mine with about 3 drops of red food coloring and made a perfectly soft pink fluff of cloud on top of my cookies. I will make this anytime I need a good, light, fluffy frosting that holds its shape. Thank you Sandra for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States