Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was awesome, very similar to the grocery store frosting . The only thing I suggest is to use a mixer with strong mixers and you do have to add a few tablespoons of water to get it to the right consistency on top of mixing it for 15 minutes. I have allready made two cakes using this frosting and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Easy and delicious! I used butter flavored Crisco, salted butter, home made vanilla extract and skipped the salt, I upped the extract to replace the water. I didn't mix for 15 minutes - my KA whipped it up in about half of that. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Tryed this recipe with my 12 and 9 year old daughters and it didn't come out well. The only flavor we tasted was shortining. We even added more sugar and vanilla but it was still not good. We will never do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This frosting was the best frosting I've ever made. It was easy, and tasted great. Nice and fluffy and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Fantastic! I was afraid to beat the entire 15 minutes (and with 5 grandkids screaming to decorate cupcakes any excuse to hush them up would do) so I only beat for about 6 minutes. Mine came up beautifully without (as others have mentioned) any overt powdered sugary or greasy shortening taste. She was a little stiff, but I'm sure with the full mixing that glitch would be eliminated. New go-to recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Amazing! It really does taste like grocery store bakery frosting -- a cloud-like consistency and a very clean, not-too-buttery flavor. I consider myself an icing connoisseur, and this will be topping my cakes for a long time. I made about 1/4 of the recipe (5 servings in the calculator), and it was just enough for 6 delicious cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The best. I do not have a mixer so I did this by hand and it was Easy Easy Easy...used butter flavor shortening, unsalted butter, and eyeballed the confectioner's sugar. I scaled it to 4 servings to frost an 8x8 and 4 cupcakes (long story). Does NOT taste like powdered sugar, which is always my biggest complaint about homemade frosting...will be coming back to this one again and again! UPDATE: Made this again for my son's birthday cake, using unflavored shortening and adding liquid food coloring...and I still love it...but he didn't like it :( So, next year will have to try a different recipe out for him. But I will still use this one for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I LOOOVE this frosting. It tastes like frosting on a store bought cake, except not chemical-y and a little different. It as a perfect consistency, thick and rich-- one of the only icings I could actually eat from the bowl ((plain!)). I really like how if you refrigerate it in an airtight container for a day, becomes mm fondant-like. Definitely the best recipe I've made yet, thanks for the recipe! Easy to ice with, but a little difficult to write or make borders with with a pipette. I suggest adding more water if you want an easier time piping. Thanks again!! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Love it! I followed the recipe as written though I added more vanilla and substituted the water with cream (to make it fluffier and taste less like straight sugar). Yes, you do need two pounds of powdered sugar. The recipe makes a stiff frosting that you could probably use for decorations like frosting roses, but add more cream for a lighter fluffier frosting (1/2 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
One of the best frosting's I've gotten off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States