Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As promised, this IS "'Just like the type all those in-store bakeries use.'" Five stars for a recipe that lives up to its' name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Five Stars for Grocery Store Frosting! The name says it all, it tastes just like that greasy in-store bakery frosting. It takes three chugs of milk to get it off the back of your tongue. It was a breeze to whip up using my stand mixer. Love this frosting, super sweet and super slickery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent!!! I'm a die hard 'Butter Cream Frosting II' fan, but wanted to try a bit fluffier frosting this time around. This frosting is terrific - tastes great and is wonderful to work with. If left in the air the frosting dries hard on the outside but is super soft and fluffy inside. That's perfect in my opinion! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It gets five stars because it is exactly what it says it is and was just what I was looking for, something that would be similar to what I could get in a can at the store, and with ingredients I would have on hand. It does indeed stay soft underneath and firms up on top. And, yes, it makes a lot. I frosted two (rather tall 8" cakes) and could probably have done a third (I used the rest for all my fun little projects with cake scraps. and mini bread tins...) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
It's not the best icing I've ever eaten (I'm the baker in the house) but it's a great, simple recipe to whip up in a pinch. Worth a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Yes I am one of those people that loves the corner end of the bakery store cake. Made exactly do not just use only butter if you want the right taste and texture. If you are afraid of crisco move on. Made with salted butter and also made the day before it does taste different and better as others have noted the day after making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Sandra, Great frosting, my daughter is getting married and she can not have milk products. I'm using your receipt for her wedding cake. It is so easy to make and to work with and freezes well. I have made lots of example wedding cakes before the real deal, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Loved it. Made half a recipe, and it was enough to frost 12 cupcakes and about 30 mini cupcakes with some left over. I used a bit more butter than called for in the half recipe, which was a good call. Beat this for a good 12 minutes in my Kitchen Aid, and it was nice and fluffy/creamy. Will use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was the best frosting EVER. I will forever use this sweet but not too sweet frosting. The 15 min. of mixing makes it so light. I piped on cupcakes and frosted another rect. cake and it was cooperative. And lasted because the frosting hardens but stays so soft and creamy on the inside. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was awesome, very similar to the grocery store frosting . The only thing I suggest is to use a mixer with strong mixers and you do have to add a few tablespoons of water to get it to the right consistency on top of mixing it for 15 minutes. I have allready made two cakes using this frosting and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States