Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Loved this frosting! I love baked goods from the grocery store b/c the frosting is so good! This stuff tastes just like it :) It was very easy to make. I made 12 cupcakes- I think I used about 1/2 and I put the rest in the freezer, relying on assurances by other reviewers that it freezes well. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
this was okay. I figured out that a pound of powdered sugar is about 3 1/2 cups. Which tasted a little too sweet. I just made half a recipe & easily frosted 24 cupcakes. I might use this again if i need frosting for kids cakes. I liked how it held up to temp changes, didn't melt like canned frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is the BEST, I mean the VERY BEST frosting recipe I have ever attempted! It was quick and easy (no boiling stuff) and it tasted AWESOME!!!! I'm already thinking of a million different ways to use it (maybe some peanut butter added to make a chocolate peanut butter cake, mmmmm). Yummy yummy yum!!!!! Try it you will not be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! .. I used milk instead of water and added 1/2 tsp. butter flavor and almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaileespaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Excellent frosting!This is just what I was looking for to decorate a batch of cupcakes for a special birthday. Nice and fluffy, perfect texture and consistency. I used milk instead of water and had to add a couple extra TBSP to get it perfect for piping on cupcakes. I also used half vanilla and half almond extract for a bit of extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BB34
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is my "go to" recipe when decorating cakes. I like that it uses real butter and not just flavoring. This is usually enough to frost, fill and decorate up to a 12x18 cake. Any leftover freezes well. Next time you need some, let it thaw on the counter for 1/2 hour or so. You can rewhip it if you need to, but it doesnt usually need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is awesome frosting. It is just like the kind on the store bought cakes. It takes color well and is great for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFADER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I swear, just give me this and I don't need cookies or a cake! We loved it! I did half it to frost a 9 by 13 inch cake and had a bit left over to put in between some chocolate chip cookies. I added just a bit of almond extract too. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this frosting twice. Both times I cut the recipe in half. Half is plenty for frosting an 8 or 9-inch 2-layer round cake. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly -- except I needed to add more water to make a nice spreading consistency. It was nice & fluffy, but seemed to lack some flavor. The second time I made it, I used half vanilla & half butter flavoring, and I used heavy cream in place of the first 2-tablespoons of water. Again, I had to add more water then the recipe called for to obtain a nice spreading consistency. Without the water, it would have been good for piping -- but not for spreading. With the butter flavoring added, the flavor was awesome. This is definitely a keeper. If you bake cakes frequently, you can make a full batch, use half now and then freeze/refrigerate the leftovers for later use. Just bring it to room temperature & beat well. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Pretty good, but not as good as the grocery store. Needs more butter maybe? Also, I swear the taste changed from when I made it and frosted my cake to the next day when I served it...strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States