Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I didn't think this tasted like the grocery store frosting at all. It tasted okay, but I could really taste the vanilla too much. I triple checked the amount, but I followed the recipe exact and it seemed to be too much vanilla. One lesson I learned this time was not to frost the cake the day before and wrap it up. Not as a fault to the recipe, but the next day when I unwrapped it, the nice blue guitar was covered in white dots. I believe some moisture got trapped in there. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very tasty frosting. Good consistency and flavor. Made exactly as directed. Not too sweet and hardened just right for frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Triplet's Gourmet.com
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was the best recipe I have made. I doubled the vanilla and did not need more water. I scooped it into a freezer bag, cut of the tip and piped it onto my cupcakes. Sprinkle pink sugar and tada, RAVE REVIEWS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triplet's Gourmet.com

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was great and very easy. Mine reached the right consistency after about 8 minutes. I used clear vanilla extract to keep the white frosting as white as possible. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
very good,very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonjello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
no complaints - worked well with food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makalika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avien~USMC Wife
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazingly enough, it was too sweet for me which is unheard of, but a good recipe none the less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avien~USMC Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Oh how I wanted this recipe to be "the one". I made this frosting exactly as the recipe says, but it is not what I wanted. It's a little greasy for my taste. I want the famous "great american cookie" frosting that you can get in the mall...Now that's a great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Used this frosting to decorate a pumpkin cake and I really liked it. Easy to make and takes colors very nice. Next time I will mix it the full time and see if that makes a difference. Very good and I will use this recipe often to decorate cakes, cookies, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooker, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States