Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very, very nice. Not overly greasy, not too sweet and holds it's shape. Very good. I'd use this again, only for frosting cookies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I used this recipe as a base recipe, and made a few changes to it. We like more of a buttery flavour, so I used 3/4 cup of both butter and shortening. I also used less than the called for amounts of vanilla, and sugar. What resulted was a nice frosting, just like the grocery store kind. It was easy to work with and one that I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome recipe. Our family needs to be very conscious of trans fats (OK saturated fat too but they're at least not as bad), so I tried making it with all butter and it still worked well. I did have to occasionally throw the bag back in the fridge when it became difficult to work with. If you aren't trying to do any piping, using butter probably won't affect the handling. It will still harden a bit if left out at room temp once on the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceylynn366
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe, my boyfriend is always saying how our food store doesnt make the sugar frosting...after i made this, he had bowls of it LOL...but i was able to scoop some from him to make this pretty cake..I gave it a 4 because it is a little to sugary for my taste, but it is very good. Also tastes amazing if you dip strawberries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceylynn366

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe more than only 5 stars! This is exactly the recipe I have been looking for. My husband likes heavy super sweet frosting, but I like a fluffy, not so sweet frosting. This frosting fits sooo perfectly in the middle, we all loved it. It's also great that there is no perishables in it, so it doesn't have to be refrigerated. This recipe also reduces by half very nicely.Thank you so much for a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I liked this a lot. It tasted good, was easy to make, and is perfect for cupcakes and cakes. The shortening is used in frostings for it to hold its shape at room temperature and to make it non-perishable and thus have no need to keep in the fridge. I halved the recipe (tip: 1 pound of confectioner sugar = ~3 cups) and still had extra frosting leftover after frosting 24 cupcakes. I put the extra frosting into a spritz cooking maker and made "flowers" on top of each cupcake (I posted a photo if you want to see). Top with red sprinkles and a silver ball sprinkle, and your result is quite presentable. Easy, basic frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I've been wanting to try this recipe for a long time. I thought that it was perfect. My husband (a true butter(only)cream enthusist)wasn't as impressed. It was very sugary- but isn't that the purpose of frosting? I did need to thin it a little. I will go back to a butter-only frosting to get a better rating with my butter-loving husband, but I thought this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
the only problem was that it got very hard after a couple days, the flavor was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I didn't think this tasted like the grocery store frosting at all. It tasted okay, but I could really taste the vanilla too much. I triple checked the amount, but I followed the recipe exact and it seemed to be too much vanilla. One lesson I learned this time was not to frost the cake the day before and wrap it up. Not as a fault to the recipe, but the next day when I unwrapped it, the nice blue guitar was covered in white dots. I believe some moisture got trapped in there. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very tasty frosting. Good consistency and flavor. Made exactly as directed. Not too sweet and hardened just right for frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States