Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kmorrow
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Not quite comparable to grocery store frosting but its and easy fool proof frosting that will taste great guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fantastic frosting! I am a frosting gal - the real thing, not the whippy dippy kind. This recipe fit the bill - perfectly! I have made this recipe a couple of times, and the beauty of it is that it freezes really well. I just thaw over night and give it a stir and it has the same consistency as the day I made it. That is a huge time saver for me. I just make a double batch and freeze the leftovers. A frosting recipe that I will be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't feel this had much flavor at all. I added a little almond extract after tasting but it was just lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe for a white cake with strawberry jelly filling for Valentine's Day. The first two bites I thought wow, finally found the right icing. By the end of the slice of cake I had I felt like I had eaten 2 pound of shortening. My lips and mouth felt like it was coated in grease. I used Crisco vegetable shortening for the shortening, and still feel like I ingested a ton of fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynesi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
YES, YES, YES!!!!! This is perfect! Made as written and would not change a thing. Great flavor and perfect consistency. I'm just sorry it took me this long to try it...my new go-to frosting~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I did halved the recipe and added 10 drops of doTERRA lemon essential oils and it was wonderful! A sweet hint of lemon was delicious and I can't wait to try grapefruit next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This tastes good and is super easy to make. Hardens a bit which is nice when making designs with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
UNbelievable!!! So good! Followed recipe to the T and it comes out perfect every time! The best, and I've tried lots! I could've eaten this by the spoonfuls! Makes enough for two batches or whoopie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
this is the best frosting recipe I have come across. I now use it for all my cakes! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very good...I use 1-1/2 cups shortening and no butter and clear vanilla to make the frosting pure white. Also, it helps to mix an additional 2 minutes on low at the end to reduce air bubbles and make the frosting smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States