Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
"tastes like the middle of an oreo". If you're looking for bakery/grocery store frosting, this is it. I made a few subs (skim milk instead of water, bit more salt) but otherwise followed exactly. I will use this over and over. Fresh shortening is vital here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Not what I was wanting at all. This was your typical sugary icing that gets hard when left out. Maybe this is what American grocery store icing is like, but not Canadian. Ours is much lighter tasting and is firm without hardening. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felisha Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this last night :/ my boyfriend really loves the taste of grocery store frosting so I thought I'd give it a go- but honestly neither of us though it tasted anywhere close to grocery store frosting! I'll stick to my go-to buttercream frosting from now on... Which I thought was a little too sweet until I tried this : p I really think it was much too sweet, I could only take two bites of the cake I had worked all night on : ( I'm disappointed, because of how many good reviews I see, I has high expectations for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My favorite frosting I use it all the time !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettynpink2308

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is really the only buttercream recipe you will ever need!!! It is Absolutely Perfect!! This recipe made my life so easy Decorating A Birthday cake I made for a friend! I could not stop licking my fingers lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I'm surprised this gets rated quite so highly. I wouldn't say that it tastes just like the grocery store icing, but I would say that it gets close. I don't think it gets quite as sweet as the store icing, which you would think might be a good thing, but then to me it tastes like eating shortening (kind of bland). My family did like it, though. However, it does turn out extremely light and fluffy, and it's easy to work with. Also, if you add as much vanilla as suggested, it will not be a pure white. A suggestion I'd make is to first whip the shortening, butter and some of the sugar before adding the water and vanilla. Otherwise the oils are too firm for the liquid to incorporate right away, and the water and vanilla end up splattering everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I can't describe the taste but it did not taste like any grocery store frosting I've had! It was difficult to spread and decorate with as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmorrow
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Not quite comparable to grocery store frosting but its and easy fool proof frosting that will taste great guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fantastic frosting! I am a frosting gal - the real thing, not the whippy dippy kind. This recipe fit the bill - perfectly! I have made this recipe a couple of times, and the beauty of it is that it freezes really well. I just thaw over night and give it a stir and it has the same consistency as the day I made it. That is a huge time saver for me. I just make a double batch and freeze the leftovers. A frosting recipe that I will be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't feel this had much flavor at all. I added a little almond extract after tasting but it was just lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States