Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Yum! Whipped up a batch of this frosting for my husband's Bday cake (he LOOOOVES chocolate cake with plain vanilla frosting). I debated on whether or not to just make vanilla-chocolate powdered sugar frosting (Anonymous) again, but since I wasn't blown away the first time I made it, I decided to try Sandy's frosting recipe instead. I'm really glad I did. :) This tastes just like my local grocer's butercream frosting (I buy cupcakes just for that reason!!!)! One note: THIS MAKES A TON! I had enough to frost a double-layer cake with AND enough left after that to fill half a gallon-size freezer bag. I'm going to freeze my leftover frosting so that when the craving strikes, I have something to frost a cake or cupcakes with. Thanks Sandra! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I hate to give bad reviews as everything I have ever gotten off of this website has been excellent, with that being said, I will never make this recipe again. Followed the directions exactly, not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I consider myself a grocery store frosting expert. This is extremely close to what you'd get on a cake from a grocery store. It refrigerates/freezes well. Pay no attention to how much Crisco is used - just enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I love this recipe. Its so much better than buying it from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chucles70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This frosting was amazing to work with!!!!! I separated into 3 parts and dyed one yellow, blue and red and frosted cupcakes for my son's first birthday party!!!! I don't know how it tastes because I am not a huge fan of frosting but it is versatile and i loved working with it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is my absolute favorite frosting! What ever flavor instead of vanilla, I use almond, peppermint, very versitile frosting!! I use this recipe for all birthdays, fillings, even for our county fair. I get great ravs using this recipe! TY!! Update: after making this for years..my dd's tastes buds have changed-stating too sweet..so I modified switching out the water to whole milk-5 tbsp and modified directions to make it more professional since now taking cake orders-using my KA, beat on medium high butter and shortening. Add little at a time, sugar and continue to beat and scrape down till adding one tbsp at a time alternating the sugar and milk and finally beating after fully incorporating, beat on high for about 15 minutes. This definitely makes this more fluffier, creamier, less sweet, easier to pipe! Still love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this icing for my sister's birthday cake. She has always preferred the frosting that is used in grocery store bakeries, even though most people detest it. I decided to skip the vanilla, and it still turned out great! It wasn't quite the same as in the grocery stores, but it was good enough. Will use this recipe again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avi_palacky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Yummo! This iced my cake beautifully and was delicious. I added almond extract, because it's fab, and was very pleased. Thank you Sandra for this recipe and the extra 5 pounds I'll gain tonight eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Yuck. What did I do wrong? I didn't have 2 pounds conf sugar, so I reduced the whole recipe but half, then half again. I was only topping a small square cake so figured it would be enough. After beating forever it came out somewhat fluffy, but after sitting for a few mintues has turned to a coagulated runny messy. Doesn't look pretty and tastes like CRISCO. Dissapointing as I would throw it and use a differant recipe, but am out of conefections sugar. At least my 2 year old (who wanted to make it) is eating it... though my stomache is upset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
yumm i love this i use it all the time now i run a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States