Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Yummo! This iced my cake beautifully and was delicious. I added almond extract, because it's fab, and was very pleased. Thank you Sandra for this recipe and the extra 5 pounds I'll gain tonight eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Yuck. What did I do wrong? I didn't have 2 pounds conf sugar, so I reduced the whole recipe but half, then half again. I was only topping a small square cake so figured it would be enough. After beating forever it came out somewhat fluffy, but after sitting for a few mintues has turned to a coagulated runny messy. Doesn't look pretty and tastes like CRISCO. Dissapointing as I would throw it and use a differant recipe, but am out of conefections sugar. At least my 2 year old (who wanted to make it) is eating it... though my stomache is upset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
yumm i love this i use it all the time now i run a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I just found my new favorite frosting! Followed it exact, minus the salt. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Well, I can't imagine coming any closer to grocery store bakery frosting than this. It's my guilty pleasure -- store-bought "birthday" cake. Has anyone here done a chocolate version with any luck?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Perfect with the best rolled sugar cookies recipe on this site. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a very good frosting. Be sure to follow the instructions and beat for 15 minutes...it really makes the frosting lighter and fluffier! Thank you for the great frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia McDonald Innes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
My frosting was grainy, and pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laelita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
It tasted good, it didn't taste exactly like my grocery store icing... I love that stuff. I would make it again, just wasn't right on for me. Make sure you take the time to beat it for 15 min. I had to add a little more water to get it to spread out, could have been the humidity factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Simple and very yummy as promised. It was so easy in the Kitchen Aid mixer. It really made it fluffy and creamy to beat it like the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States