Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I LOOOVE this frosting. It tastes like frosting on a store bought cake, except not chemical-y and a little different. It as a perfect consistency, thick and rich-- one of the only icings I could actually eat from the bowl ((plain!)). I really like how if you refrigerate it in an airtight container for a day, becomes mm fondant-like. Definitely the best recipe I've made yet, thanks for the recipe! Easy to ice with, but a little difficult to write or make borders with with a pipette. I suggest adding more water if you want an easier time piping. Thanks again!! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Love it! I followed the recipe as written though I added more vanilla and substituted the water with cream (to make it fluffier and taste less like straight sugar). Yes, you do need two pounds of powdered sugar. The recipe makes a stiff frosting that you could probably use for decorations like frosting roses, but add more cream for a lighter fluffier frosting (1/2 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
One of the best frosting's I've gotten off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This worked perfectly... and was easy to modify as I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutter Creek, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The 2 lbs of sugar was WAY to much. 1.5 c of powdered sugar worked for me. But I'm using Spectrum Organic All Vegetable shortening instead of lard, so I'm not sure if that made a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Outstanding. It really should be called "Bakery Frosting" as it's not the greasy mess most grocery stores would sell anyway! Definitely a keeper. Don't forget the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good and easy to make, and made a ton. I made it for a birthday cake and everyone raved about the frosting. Wasn't too sweet, just right. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The Best Frosting Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My bf likes store bought cake bacaus eof the icing. I hate store bought cake. This icing tastes like store boought cake. Be sure to beat it alot. It's a great conistency for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wow wow wow!! Fantastic icing!!! I didn't have enough shortening and used 3 sticks of blue bonnet!! So simple and makes a ton of icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States