Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe for a white cake with strawberry jelly filling for Valentine's Day. The first two bites I thought wow, finally found the right icing. By the end of the slice of cake I had I felt like I had eaten 2 pound of shortening. My lips and mouth felt like it was coated in grease. I used Crisco vegetable shortening for the shortening, and still feel like I ingested a ton of fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynesi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
YES, YES, YES!!!!! This is perfect! Made as written and would not change a thing. Great flavor and perfect consistency. I'm just sorry it took me this long to try it...my new go-to frosting~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I did halved the recipe and added 10 drops of doTERRA lemon essential oils and it was wonderful! A sweet hint of lemon was delicious and I can't wait to try grapefruit next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This tastes good and is super easy to make. Hardens a bit which is nice when making designs with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Trocke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
UNbelievable!!! So good! Followed recipe to the T and it comes out perfect every time! The best, and I've tried lots! I could've eaten this by the spoonfuls! Makes enough for two batches or whoopie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
this is the best frosting recipe I have come across. I now use it for all my cakes! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very good...I use 1-1/2 cups shortening and no butter and clear vanilla to make the frosting pure white. Also, it helps to mix an additional 2 minutes on low at the end to reduce air bubbles and make the frosting smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've used this a few times and always get compliment on it! Also very easy yo work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Family loves it! Thanks. :) Works best on cookie cake. Makes a TON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaela14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The best I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Crisp Keehnle

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States