Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
this was okay. I figured out that a pound of powdered sugar is about 3 1/2 cups. Which tasted a little too sweet. I just made half a recipe & easily frosted 24 cupcakes. I might use this again if i need frosting for kids cakes. I liked how it held up to temp changes, didn't melt like canned frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is the BEST, I mean the VERY BEST frosting recipe I have ever attempted! It was quick and easy (no boiling stuff) and it tasted AWESOME!!!! I'm already thinking of a million different ways to use it (maybe some peanut butter added to make a chocolate peanut butter cake, mmmmm). Yummy yummy yum!!!!! Try it you will not be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! .. I used milk instead of water and added 1/2 tsp. butter flavor and almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail King Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Excellent frosting!This is just what I was looking for to decorate a batch of cupcakes for a special birthday. Nice and fluffy, perfect texture and consistency. I used milk instead of water and had to add a couple extra TBSP to get it perfect for piping on cupcakes. I also used half vanilla and half almond extract for a bit of extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BB34
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is my "go to" recipe when decorating cakes. I like that it uses real butter and not just flavoring. This is usually enough to frost, fill and decorate up to a 12x18 cake. Any leftover freezes well. Next time you need some, let it thaw on the counter for 1/2 hour or so. You can rewhip it if you need to, but it doesnt usually need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is awesome frosting. It is just like the kind on the store bought cakes. It takes color well and is great for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFADER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I swear, just give me this and I don't need cookies or a cake! We loved it! I did half it to frost a 9 by 13 inch cake and had a bit left over to put in between some chocolate chip cookies. I added just a bit of almond extract too. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this frosting twice. Both times I cut the recipe in half. Half is plenty for frosting an 8 or 9-inch 2-layer round cake. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly -- except I needed to add more water to make a nice spreading consistency. It was nice & fluffy, but seemed to lack some flavor. The second time I made it, I used half vanilla & half butter flavoring, and I used heavy cream in place of the first 2-tablespoons of water. Again, I had to add more water then the recipe called for to obtain a nice spreading consistency. Without the water, it would have been good for piping -- but not for spreading. With the butter flavoring added, the flavor was awesome. This is definitely a keeper. If you bake cakes frequently, you can make a full batch, use half now and then freeze/refrigerate the leftovers for later use. Just bring it to room temperature & beat well. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Pretty good, but not as good as the grocery store. Needs more butter maybe? Also, I swear the taste changed from when I made it and frosted my cake to the next day when I served it...strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The best and only recipe I will be using ever again!! I use it with the sugar cookie recipe "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" and it was a hit!!! Both recipes yield high batches but I kept having to make more! Everyone loved them and I even gave them as gifts, so I am very excited to use both recipes again for Valentines day! Highly recommended. I added tiny bits of water through out the frosting of the cookies to keep the frosting glossy and moist. Easy to work with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susancabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States