Grocery Store Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kmorrow
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Not quite comparable to grocery store frosting but its and easy fool proof frosting that will taste great guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fantastic frosting! I am a frosting gal - the real thing, not the whippy dippy kind. This recipe fit the bill - perfectly! I have made this recipe a couple of times, and the beauty of it is that it freezes really well. I just thaw over night and give it a stir and it has the same consistency as the day I made it. That is a huge time saver for me. I just make a double batch and freeze the leftovers. A frosting recipe that I will be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't feel this had much flavor at all. I added a little almond extract after tasting but it was just lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe for a white cake with strawberry jelly filling for Valentine's Day. The first two bites I thought wow, finally found the right icing. By the end of the slice of cake I had I felt like I had eaten 2 pound of shortening. My lips and mouth felt like it was coated in grease. I used Crisco vegetable shortening for the shortening, and still feel like I ingested a ton of fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynesi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
YES, YES, YES!!!!! This is perfect! Made as written and would not change a thing. Great flavor and perfect consistency. I'm just sorry it took me this long to try it...my new go-to frosting~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I did halved the recipe and added 10 drops of doTERRA lemon essential oils and it was wonderful! A sweet hint of lemon was delicious and I can't wait to try grapefruit next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This tastes good and is super easy to make. Hardens a bit which is nice when making designs with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
UNbelievable!!! So good! Followed recipe to the T and it comes out perfect every time! The best, and I've tried lots! I could've eaten this by the spoonfuls! Makes enough for two batches or whoopie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
this is the best frosting recipe I have come across. I now use it for all my cakes! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very good...I use 1-1/2 cups shortening and no butter and clear vanilla to make the frosting pure white. Also, it helps to mix an additional 2 minutes on low at the end to reduce air bubbles and make the frosting smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States