Grits a Ya Ya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Amazing! The ONLY thing I changed was adding crushed red pepper flakes instead of hot sauce. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome! Will make over and over minus one cup of cream. Family went back for thirds but, many noted you couldn't really find the grits, so to speak, because it was so soupy with cream. I recommend just one cup at the end. You can always add more, if needed. I despised grits until this recipe. Thank you SO much for sharing!!! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Love, love, love this recipe. I had never had shrimp and grits before trying this recipe but, now after trying this recipe I'm hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Grandberry-Segura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Oh My Stars this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Over the top decadent and delicious! Food for the Gods! I didn't change anything but next time I'm adding oysters also :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharra Way-Bingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I'm from Pensacola, FL and Chef Jim Shirley did, indeed, come up with this recipe at The Fish House. It's a favorite on their menu and a favorite on our table. If you want the grits a little thicker just cook them a bit longer, and if you want the sauce a little thicker just don't add quite as much heavy cream. WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
It's so amazing. It's comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was yummy! Fairly easy... I didn't have the shallot or the spinach. I also got mixed up halfway thru cooking and I accidently got 5 min grits.. So I put my cheese and 1/4 c cream in the grits... then added my chopped bacon. I then sauted my mushrooms and onions in the skillet. Added them to the grits. I had extra cheese so I added that along with the rest of the cream. I then cooked the shrimp and just added it to the individual bowls. I had a lot of grits left and no shrimp so I plan on freezing the grit mixture into individual grit cakes. I will bread and deep fry them. Then will make this sauce the correct way and serve with my grit cakes......Cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Amazing! My husband's favorite meal is Shrimp and Grits, so I made this for his birthday. He said it was the best he's ever had, which means a lot because he always gets it when we're out at various restaurants. It does make a lot of sauce, which was great for an easy dinner tonight. I did thicken the sauce with some corn starch. Next time I will use more spinach and mushrooms because I like veggies and their nutrients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States