Grilled Zucchini and Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I would give it five stars after my personal modifications...if you want your vegetables to still be 'tender-crisp' or simply have some firmer texture but still have the 'bitterness' cooked out, then cut the slices thicker or lengthwise. I do not use butter...rather I toss my veggies in olive oil and toss in some slices onions, minced garlic, and diced tomatoes. I also sprinkle some sea salt and black pepper over everything and then wrap it all up in the foil and throw on my griddle/grill on the stovetop (too cold for grilling right now). About 20 minutes...perfect side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Very good for my Weight Watchers plan! I omitted the butter though (3/4 cup, wow that's a lot) and used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray. I added minced garlic, chopped onion, green peppers, and italian seasoning. Followed the advice on reducing the salt/pepper and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This was a pretty good recipe ofcourse I tinkered with it and added some stuff to it like chopped garlic, tomatoes, and chopped green onions and it was superb. The whole family loved it even my little ones who are picky. Thanks, sonya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly except put mine in a 350 oven for 15 minutes. very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I added some julienned carrots to this vegetable dish. Instead of grilling, I opted to make the veggies by steaming instead of grilling in all the butter. I left out the black pepper and garlic powder, choosing instead to saute some minced garlic in about 1 Tbsp of butter, and drizzled it on top of the veggies, followed by a sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This was good, but when I started making it I thought the amounts of butter and seasonings was WAY too much, so I cut those amounts in half and it was STILL too much! Next time I'll try cutting it down to 1/2 stick of butter and a teaspoon each of salt, pepper and garlic powder and it should be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
The measurements of tablespoons just didn't sound right to me so I used teaspoons of spices and it came out very good. I will make this again adding mushrooms, onion, and red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was yummy. I cut down on the butter and added fresh red onions to the mix. I eyeballed the suggested seasonings and in addition added some Italian seasonings. This recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I never use all that butter - it's way too much. I use I can't believe it's not butter spray. I add some fresh portabella mushrooms and some cherry tomatoes cut in half along with red onion cut into rings and a few dashes of italian seasoning. Also, the measurements for the salt and pepper may be a little off on here too. Just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was good with my salmon! I did however add red onion. I also used butter flavored pam cooking spray instead of the butter. My non veggie eating husband even mentioned that it was good (rare if Gram didn't make it). Delish!! Thanks Jay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States