Grilled Zucchini I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have been making this for years and I have found you don't need the foil. I usually put the zucchini strips in a ziploc, add olive oil, and season with salt, pepper and usually some cayenne. Then just put them directly on the grill. They are even better if they get a little "burnt" looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe is better done without aluminum foil. Instead of the ingredients listed, use Olive Oil, and sprinkle with Cavender's All Purpose Greek Seasoning & Lawry's Garlic Salt. Then place directly on grill for approx. 10 to 15 minutes, turning once. Cooking time is according to thickness of zucchini. This is also great on yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Not sure why the name of this recipe is Grilled Zucchini. It's steamed zucchini but done on a grill instead of in a pot. Blah! The best way to make grilled zucchini is to cut them in half lengthwise, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Then, just toss them on the grill flat side down for about 5-10 mins and then flip over for a few more mins depending on the size and thickness of your zucchinis. You'll get the nice grill marks, a juicy, sweet, soft yet crispy veggie. Now that's grilled zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
An easy way to cook up a side dish to go along with all the BBQ meats. Instead of butter, however, I sprayed the zucchinis with olive oil and added fresh herbs on top of the S&P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I scored the zucchini first then drizzled it with olive oil instead of butter and in addition to the salt and pepper added some garlic powder and italian seasoning. I didn't do a foil packet, just put it directly on the grill. In no time at all, it was tender-crisp and delicious! A perfect side dish for grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Tasty but mushy. I used cooking spray instead of butter. I added fresh chopped italian parsley in addition to the oregano. I also added vidalia onion. It was okay - would have grilled the zucchini rather than wrapping it in foil & steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
This recipe turned out OK, but the zucchini was soggy and not "grilled" (i.e. crispy) at all. Were I to try this again, I would probably remove the foil half way through and finish it directly on the grill and baste a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Wrapping in foil steams veggies. Direct grilling is best. And not much oil needed or turns mushy. Zucchini grilled this way is delicious tossed with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
I added salt, pepper and oregano to the zucchini before grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I prefer to use olive oil instead of butter and I take it out of the foil for the last 5 mins and let it just sit on the grill. It makes it a little crisper and darker in color. Also, we like to add a little sliver of velveeta cheese right at the end of grilling until it melts.....DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States