Grilled Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I just tried this a few weeks ago for the first time. Very good and very easy. I didn't peel the yams, scrubbed them good instead. I drizzeled with olive oil and then the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
i was looking for a healthy grilled yam/sweet potato recipe & happened to find this new one. the taste is great however the texture on the dry side. keep an eye on the grill....my thick cut potatoes were starting to char after 6 ~ 7 minutes. thanks foxy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Ehh. I guess you really have to like yams to like these. I would have much preferred a mashed version with a little bit of brown sugar. But my fiance liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was a really easy way to cook yams... and so delicious! It will be a staple around my house!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I liked it, except I cut the slices crosswise and dipped them in olive oil. Also since I like brown sugared sweet potatoes, I took about 6 or so of slices, put wrapped them in foil with some butter, brown sugar and ice cubes. I put the package on the grill until the sweet potato slices were soft. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We're trying to be heart healthy, so instead of the salt, I added Garlic Powder, Paprika, Cayenne Pepper, and Chili Pepper to try to zest them up a bit. We skipped the butter. Tasted delicious (even without the butter and salt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Good! I rubbed mine with olive oil and skipped the butter. Seasoned with salt & pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was great. I only added butter for my guests. I try to watch added fat and just plain it was absolutely delicious. I did this in a grill pan and it worked perfectly on medium high heat. I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I modified this recipe by first steaming the yam slices for about 5 minutes and substituted the olive oil with a butter honey mixture and then sprinkled with cinnamon & sugar. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States