Grilled Wild Duck Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe. A tip for those who want to eliminate the "wild game" taste as much as possible is to soak the duck breasts in salted ice water for about an hour before using. I suggest about a Tablespoon of salt per quart. Make sure to use ice water as it will draw out blood. Then rinse the breasts thoroughly and quickly pat dry with paper towel before adding to the marinade. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The best tip I can give when cooking any duck breasts is do NOT overcook. Cooking on grill is best. Breast should be medium to medium rare. Allow meat to rest 10 mins before cutting. If you overcook- it will give a more wild taste. We eat a variety of game meat all the time. This is the best tip someone should use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I cook on a grill as hot as I can get it (500+) for a very short time dpending on the size of the duck breast. there is no substitute for a meat thermometer when you cook game birds. The grilled duck breast should be cooked to 130 degrees F and then removed from the grill to keep it from tasting gamey. It will look very red when cut and should run pinkish juice. You do not have to soak it in brine. I do half my ducks with this recipe and the other half using Soy instead of Worcestichire sauce. The rule with wild duck is to not overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecolter
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was the first time for duck breast for us, so we thought we'd try an easy marinade. The flavor of the marinade was fine, but our meat still had a little "wild" flavor. Next time, we will soak it a little in brine before we marinate. We also grilled this for about 10-12 minutes on each side and as you can see in the picture, it still came out medium rare. I guess duck is an extremely bloody meat. Thanks for the recipe, RKC. I will try this marinade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! Like other readers, we put the duck in a bath of ice water & salt and that definitely made the duck not gamey at all. This recipe was so great we made it two nights in a row. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Best goose marinade I've ever tried. My wife and kids will now enjoy my ducks with me during duck season. Makes mallard and pintails even better and will make divers and even coots delicious to eat. A must tried for all duck hunters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Amazing!! My husband and I hated duck before this recipe. My daughter (8yr.) loved it as well. We were all fighting over it at the dinner table. I did soak it in ice salt water for an hour, so I don't know if that helped with eliminating the game taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! We only had time to marinade for about 25 minutes. I cut our bacon slices in half, wrapped each half breast with the bacon. We shot one Goldeneye (crappy bird) and one hen wood duck (very tasty bird). I wrapped the Goldeneye with jalepeno slices along with bacon. I wrapped the Wood Duck with bacon only. Fried both bird breats. My father who has been hunting for 45 plus years thought the jalepeno was the Wood Duck. I can't imagine how good it would have been if I would have marinated it for 24 hours. Will do this over and over again. Great appetizer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarriLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My husband has recently taken up duck hunting & I've never liked duck before. The way my mom fixed it it always tasted like a mixture of rotting fish & mud. This recipe worked very well to eliminate that taste and I can actually say I enjoy duck now. Even my picky 4 year old liked it. I did do the salty ice water soak suggested in some of the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Easy to make and the kids loved it!!!!!Let the meat rest from the grill for a few minutes. Slice it up and serve over a pasta or rice. We will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States