Grilled Wild Duck Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I have tried duck many ways but this is exceptional. Everyone seems to LOVE it. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! We only had time to marinade for about 25 minutes. I cut our bacon slices in half, wrapped each half breast with the bacon. We shot one Goldeneye (crappy bird) and one hen wood duck (very tasty bird). I wrapped the Goldeneye with jalepeno slices along with bacon. I wrapped the Wood Duck with bacon only. Fried both bird breats. My father who has been hunting for 45 plus years thought the jalepeno was the Wood Duck. I can't imagine how good it would have been if I would have marinated it for 24 hours. Will do this over and over again. Great appetizer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carri Villella Levitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The best tip I can give when cooking any duck breasts is do NOT overcook. Cooking on grill is best. Breast should be medium to medium rare. Allow meat to rest 10 mins before cutting. If you overcook- it will give a more wild taste. We eat a variety of game meat all the time. This is the best tip someone should use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
SO good! Make this recipe. I could not believe how amazing it tastes. I also did the ice/salt bath (which, btw, the guys at the butcher had never heard of) and grilled skin-side down for most of the time. DE-LISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I cook on a grill as hot as I can get it (500+) for a very short time dpending on the size of the duck breast. there is no substitute for a meat thermometer when you cook game birds. The grilled duck breast should be cooked to 130 degrees F and then removed from the grill to keep it from tasting gamey. It will look very red when cut and should run pinkish juice. You do not have to soak it in brine. I do half my ducks with this recipe and the other half using Soy instead of Worcestichire sauce. The rule with wild duck is to not overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Fantastic! This recipe is simple and delicious. I had been looking to do a little something different for dinner after getting a bit tired of chicken, pork, fish and beef most nights, and the duck breast was just the ticket! I also soaked the breasts in icy salt water for an hour per the suggestion of another reviewer, which was easy and they did not taste 'gamey' at all. Please note that since duck has thick/fatty skin that it did catch 'fire' and char on that side, BUT that did NOT affect the cook time. Next time, I'll grill the meat-side down first for 5 minutes and then grill the skin side for 3 minutes at most, to avoid the char. While the recipe was incredible by itself, I also served it with some Hoisin Sauce on the side to dip pieces into, which was fantastic. In China, they serve duck with scallions or chives, which would also taste good chopped over the finished duck. Thank you for sharing this recipe - we'll be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Yummy! Grilled up duck breasts from hunt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorri Goddard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! My boyfriends dad gave us a bunch of wild duck breasts and I had NO idea how to cook it. We marinated it overnight and cooked it on the barbeque the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tastes like steak and is even better wrapped in bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! Like other readers, we put the duck in a bath of ice water & salt and that definitely made the duck not gamey at all. This recipe was so great we made it two nights in a row. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States