Grilled Wild Duck Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ecolter
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was the first time for duck breast for us, so we thought we'd try an easy marinade. The flavor of the marinade was fine, but our meat still had a little "wild" flavor. Next time, we will soak it a little in brine before we marinate. We also grilled this for about 10-12 minutes on each side and as you can see in the picture, it still came out medium rare. I guess duck is an extremely bloody meat. Thanks for the recipe, RKC. I will try this marinade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Easy to make and the kids loved it!!!!!Let the meat rest from the grill for a few minutes. Slice it up and serve over a pasta or rice. We will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
We used this marinade for both duck and pheasant that we fondued with a group of friends; it was delicous. We served the duck with mint jelly. We had several meats and the duck, believe it or not, was the favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe. A tip for those who want to eliminate the "wild game" taste as much as possible is to soak the duck breasts in salted ice water for about an hour before using. I suggest about a Tablespoon of salt per quart. Make sure to use ice water as it will draw out blood. Then rinse the breasts thoroughly and quickly pat dry with paper towel before adding to the marinade. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Amazing!! My husband and I hated duck before this recipe. My daughter (8yr.) loved it as well. We were all fighting over it at the dinner table. I did soak it in ice salt water for an hour, so I don't know if that helped with eliminating the game taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My husband has recently taken up duck hunting & I've never liked duck before. The way my mom fixed it it always tasted like a mixture of rotting fish & mud. This recipe worked very well to eliminate that taste and I can actually say I enjoy duck now. Even my picky 4 year old liked it. I did do the salty ice water soak suggested in some of the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! Like other readers, we put the duck in a bath of ice water & salt and that definitely made the duck not gamey at all. This recipe was so great we made it two nights in a row. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tastes like steak and is even better wrapped in bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! My boyfriends dad gave us a bunch of wild duck breasts and I had NO idea how to cook it. We marinated it overnight and cooked it on the barbeque the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Yummy! Grilled up duck breasts from hunt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorri Goddard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States