Grilled Wild Duck Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
After being disappointed the last time I cooked duck I could not believe it. NO game taste and tender and juicy like a steak. Now just need more ducks .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My first time cooking duck and this was great. I did brine it a couple of days then marinated for about 8 hours. It's too cold to grill, so I wrapped it in bacon and cooked it in a hot iron skillet for about 4 minutes a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cook'n wild in Mn
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty close, but I also soaked the duck in ice water and sea salt for 1 hour before marinating. I used a whole duck and split it length wise in half and marinated the Mallard per recipe in the refrigerator for approximately 2 hours in a gallon zip lock bag turning occasionally. I rubbed sea salt on both sides of the duck and scored the skin before cooking on a 400-450 gas grill for approximately 7 minutes per side, (skin side down first). After cooking, I then let it rest for 5 minutes. It turned out medium rare and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wow! Right on in flavor! Pleased husband much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shotandabeer
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It's an excellent and simple way to cook small and large duck breast. Takes away any hint of what some folks think is a liver flavor. My wife loves it and she has to be converted due to beibg a city girl. With a bock beer, and rice, this makes a fantastic dinner. Two large duck (mallard, gadwall, etc...) breasts a piece is plenty. You will feel like you had a light and not overpowering meal. The sauce and garlic are just right. we had it with woody's too which are known to be more livery. Just as good. Dont cook too long. You want duck to be medium rare. It's a red meal like tenderloin. We have added it to our normal rotation of meals - during duck season. Cheers! Peter and Maggie Madison, Wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband like this a lot. I did not think it was bad. But I still don't like duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Really good marinated for about two hours could probably go longer though but the flavor was really good. Would recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Good recipe. I was short on time, so I brined the breasts for two days, marinaded the breasts for two days, then I grilled them. They were delicious, even to my picky teen eater. Great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Super easy recipe to make. had family over who normally don't eat wild meat and they loved it. I used Teal duck instead of Mallards and it was a great success too only downside to Teal is they have such tiny breast so make sure you have plenty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I don't normally care for the taste of duck (gamey and swamp-like), but this has a great garlicy steak-like taste. I soaked my ducks in salt water for two days to draw out the blood then marinated for two additional days. I poked holes in the meat with a fork to tenderize and allow the marinade to really sink in. Grilled it over charcoal, being careful not to over cook. This is the best waterfowl I have ever had! Full of flavor and very tender. I will definitely be using it again and am looking forward to trying it with goose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States