Grilled Whole Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was amazing. The meat literally fell off the bones! I used boxed chicken stock, chopped onions and garlic instead of powder, and added some fresh herbs I had on hand. Amazing! This was my first time cooking a whole turkey but I know it won't be my last. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I brined it the night before with some of the same seasonings - I wanted to make sure my turkey had a lot of flavor and was not dry (like every other turkey I've made). The turkey was super moist, even though it caught on fire while my husband was browning it because he wasn't paying attention! Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have never grilled a turkey before and was realy worried it wouldnt work. But I wanted to keep my house cool so I tried it. It was amazing! I took the spices and rubbed them all over the turkey before I seared it - then I added an extra two cups of water to the pan when I put it in. The drippings mixed with the spices and turkey juice made the most decadant gravy!! My turkey was about 13 pounds but it finished in about 3 hours. The temp guage on my grill read a steady 400 the whole time. When I lifted the lid to check the turkey it had gently stewed in its own juices and spices! It fell apart - not a pretty turkey - but so moist and tender and flavorful - my ex-husband even commented on how wonderful it was and he is a man of few compliments! The kids raved about it - and the next day turkey sandwhiches too! I can't wait to try it again with a few chickens and play with the spices a bit too! We will be grilling our turkeys from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was super yummy. I used 1 can of stock, 1 cup of white wine and also added 1/4 cup of butter to the broth. This was a very moist bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was the best turkey I have ever made! It cooked in only 3 hours and was a 15lb turkey, or a bit less, and though I added extra broth after reading the past reviews, it still burned up (still was moist and delicious!) maybe cooking over a lower heat for a longer time? Anyone tried this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've been grilling our holiday turkey for years, this is the BEST! Grilling advise, if your grill is 22 1/2" in diameter (Weber) you need 25 briquets on each side for first hour and need to add 8 to each side every hour during cooking. For a 26 3/4" grill you need 30 briquets the first hour and add 9 to each side every hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
At 63 years old, I've made quite a few turkeys! I agree that grilling is the best method I've ever used. The only thing I'd like to add is that a rotisserie makes it even better. My Weber has the rotisserie attachment, and believe me, spinning that bird over the charcoal fire makes the very best turkey you will ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TedM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The reviews are perfect! We grilled a bird and the meat just fell off the bones. I have no idea why anyone would need to add liquid during the cooking process. We followed the recipe exactly and it was perfection. This was a trial run before Thanksgiving and we'll be doing it again on turkey day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akneale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Habra, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Help! I want to try this but I can't seem to find any information about how much charcoal to use and how often I would need to add more. I have a Weber Grill, and I already bought a turkey, I think it's about 13 lbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa3boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
we did this last yr except i forgot to thaw it. Did it anyhow but skipped the part about browning it on the outside. Took longer and didn't need to add extra water because it made water as it cooked. Was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daidakai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States