Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yum! Giving it only 4 since I had to make some changes. Only had vegetable bouillion and no sherry, so I subbed worcestershire sauce. Needless to say I am doing a grill full of these this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Fabulous fabulous fabulous. I did ultimately put in a little mustard powder and some extra ice cubes to make extra broth. I also let it sit on the grill for about an hour or so (on low at the end) since the people I was feeding were late. However, I think that was only to its benefit - the onions break apart after cooking for so long and it's got a wonderful flavor. I put the cheese on once I had the soup poured into bowls and let it melt that way. The man said it was the best onion soup I'd ever made and I had to agree....and I've made some good onion soup! Love it. Now I want to try using this cooking method to try something like stew while camping....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maribel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denmark, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Dear Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup: Where, oh where have you been all my life? So delicious... sweet, sweet Vidalia onions bathed in a buttery, salty-beefy broth... One could not ask for an easier grilled recipe. I took a cue from 'opies tailor' and used my soup crocks encased in foil. Works great -- no leakage or spillage of hot liquid -- just peel back foil and enjoy. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I love this soup!! I started making it last summer on my gas grill. I made it twice in the first week after I found the recipe. I follow the recipe as written, except I don't add the sherry (I do 4 ice cubes). I cook it for an hour then pour the broth and onion into a deep bowl. I add the slice of cheese and cover the bowl with the used foil for a few minutes. This eliminates any mess with the cheese sticking to things. When the Vadalia onions are out of season, I have used sweet onions and it is still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, and make it often. I got lucky and found some 10oz soup crocks at goodwill and prepare the soup right in them. Just follow the recipe as is, and wrap the entire cup/crock w/foil, making sure to seal it well (leave some room at the top though). Works great both on the grill, and in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is excellent! Don't have to slave over a hot stove!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I followed almost all of the recipe. I found it too salty with a bouillon on each onion. Therefore, 2nd time around, I did one onion with and one onion without bouillon, etc. When they were done cooking, I did not add the cheese. I pulled them off the grill, cooled them and sliced them all the way through. I threw them in a pot, with the remaining liquid, added a can of low sodium beef broth and heated through. When I was ready to serve, I added the cheese to each individual bowl. Thus, no cheese sticking to tin foil. Delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I was at home by myself tonight and decided to make this. I didn't have any alcohol in the house, so I used cranberry juice instead. Very tasty. I will definately keep this recipe handy especially when I am by myself as it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I tried this tonight and it was delicious. The flavor of the broth was exceptional and the onions were so tender and sweet. I didn't have sherry, so I used a splash of white cooking wine. I baked it in the oven since it's raining out, and it did take longer than one hour. In fact it took almost 2. I added several more ice cubes, since several said there was not quite enough broth. Other than that, the recipe was not altered. The provolone was very tasty, but what a mess. It stuck to the bowl, the knife and fork when I cut up the onion in my bowl, and then the spoon. I just had a nice hearty slice of toasted nine grain bread from the bakery and all in all it was a great and satifying meal. My husband will be home late, and when he does, he'll get a bowl and maybe I'll return and write his review. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Love this recipe, have made it many times already. I have a solution for the foil leaking if anyone else had this problem. Try using the mini tin pie plates and then wrapping those in foil. Now you have a serving dish too and no mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States