Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Love this recipe, have made it many times already. I have a solution for the foil leaking if anyone else had this problem. Try using the mini tin pie plates and then wrapping those in foil. Now you have a serving dish too and no mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I tried this last night and we were delighted with it. We lived in Paris for 4 years and althought this is not authentic by any means it did satisfy the taste buds. My husband declared it a keeper. I prepared it in the oven but increased the oven temperature to 400 degrees and baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes to get the onion as soft as we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I tried this tonight and it was delicious. The flavor of the broth was exceptional and the onions were so tender and sweet. I didn't have sherry, so I used a splash of white cooking wine. I baked it in the oven since it's raining out, and it did take longer than one hour. In fact it took almost 2. I added several more ice cubes, since several said there was not quite enough broth. Other than that, the recipe was not altered. The provolone was very tasty, but what a mess. It stuck to the bowl, the knife and fork when I cut up the onion in my bowl, and then the spoon. I just had a nice hearty slice of toasted nine grain bread from the bakery and all in all it was a great and satifying meal. My husband will be home late, and when he does, he'll get a bowl and maybe I'll return and write his review. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Litt Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This was absolutely delicious & so simple to make. I didn't change a thing. It's important to pour it all to a serving bowl immediately otherwise the cheese will stick to the foil. We added garlic onion croutons to the soup before serving. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I love this soup!! I started making it last summer on my gas grill. I made it twice in the first week after I found the recipe. I follow the recipe as written, except I don't add the sherry (I do 4 ice cubes). I cook it for an hour then pour the broth and onion into a deep bowl. I add the slice of cheese and cover the bowl with the used foil for a few minutes. This eliminates any mess with the cheese sticking to things. When the Vadalia onions are out of season, I have used sweet onions and it is still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, and make it often. I got lucky and found some 10oz soup crocks at goodwill and prepare the soup right in them. Just follow the recipe as is, and wrap the entire cup/crock w/foil, making sure to seal it well (leave some room at the top though). Works great both on the grill, and in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is excellent! Don't have to slave over a hot stove!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Delicious! I baked these last night for dinner and everyone loved them, even our two teenagers. After reading the reviews I baked them at 400 for 1 hr. 15 min. and they were perfectly done. What a neat recipe... we plan to try them on the grill this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Dear Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup: Where, oh where have you been all my life? So delicious... sweet, sweet Vidalia onions bathed in a buttery, salty-beefy broth... One could not ask for an easier grilled recipe. I took a cue from 'opies tailor' and used my soup crocks encased in foil. Works great -- no leakage or spillage of hot liquid -- just peel back foil and enjoy. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I followed almost all of the recipe. I found it too salty with a bouillon on each onion. Therefore, 2nd time around, I did one onion with and one onion without bouillon, etc. When they were done cooking, I did not add the cheese. I pulled them off the grill, cooled them and sliced them all the way through. I threw them in a pot, with the remaining liquid, added a can of low sodium beef broth and heated through. When I was ready to serve, I added the cheese to each individual bowl. Thus, no cheese sticking to tin foil. Delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States