Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I tried this last night and we were delighted with it. We lived in Paris for 4 years and althought this is not authentic by any means it did satisfy the taste buds. My husband declared it a keeper. I prepared it in the oven but increased the oven temperature to 400 degrees and baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes to get the onion as soft as we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Yum! I had to use a chicken cube and leave off the cheese, but it was still really good. Easy to make too. I can see us using this recipe a lot during the coming months, and I think it'd be good in the oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This was absolutely delicious & so simple to make. I didn't change a thing. It's important to pour it all to a serving bowl immediately otherwise the cheese will stick to the foil. We added garlic onion croutons to the soup before serving. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
We followed the directions, but there wasn't hardly any broth. I'll stick to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was great, easy and really tasted like french onion soup! Used chablis as I had no sherry - I think red wine would work as well. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My husband & I enjoyed this soup (without the sherry), except that we both found it a bit too salty. The next time I made it with 1/2 bouillon cubes & Walla Walla onions (Vidalia onions are not available for long here in Quebec); not as good as the 1st time. We look forward to next summer when I will try it again with 3/4 boullion cubes & Vidalia onions; also, we will try it again with Walla Walla onions to see if the onions also make a difference. This is such an easy & delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a family favorite when we go camping. With a salad, it is a meal in itself. My daughter is a vegetarian so, by substituting vegetable bouillon cubes, it is one thing we can grill that she will eat. I often leave out the ice cubes because I don't have them when camping - they aren't crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My roommate and I ate this all summer long. The only change was we added more ice cubes because we wanted more broth. It's so delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was wonderful!!! Best to eat in a bowl after grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Delicious! I baked these last night for dinner and everyone loved them, even our two teenagers. After reading the reviews I baked them at 400 for 1 hr. 15 min. and they were perfectly done. What a neat recipe... we plan to try them on the grill this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States