Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Carlisle, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
OH MY GOD!! YUM! YUM! This is the BEST recipe. Being the first time I prepare venison backstrap and actually ate it. I let it marinate overnight in the apple cider and I used smoky maple bacon. I prepare this for my friends and my hunter husband and they could not get enough of it. It was so tender and juicy and the bacon gave it such a nice smoky flavor and NO GAMEY TASTE! It deserves more than 5 stars!!! Thank you so much Garry. Did I mention that this recipe ROCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I was looking for something new and different to try with my first deer of the season. Man am I glad I came looking here. This is an awesome recipe! My wife and I love venison, but the kids are always a bit iffy. They scarfed this up and begged for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Incredible! I made this for Christmas dinner. It was immediately decided that this would be our traditional dinner from now on. Since I do not care for BBQ sauce, I used A.1. Steak House Marinade - Garlic and Herb. Every mouthful was tender and delicious. Watch the cooking time carefully and remember that the meat will continue to cook after it is removed from the grill -- important if you like your meat medium rare, as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Excellent venison recipe! My husband is very picky about his venison and this was great! It didn't have that gamey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
We process our own meat every year and live off of venison year around. I've never tasted anything this fabulous! My husband enjoyed the leftovers the following evening. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I am not a big fan of venison, but you could not tell at all with this recipe. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it appears here. It is one of the best venison tenderloin recipes I have seen. I made it one night as a main course and the next night as an appetizer. It reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I'm giving it 5 stars because my ex-hubby said it was awesome! I tried it but I made a HUGE mistake....for some reason I had apple cider VINEGAR in my head when I made the venison! For future reference...do NOT make this using apple cider vinegar...not good :( I will definately try this again using apple cider!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent! Excellent! This was the first time I had ever cooked venison and this recipe made me look like an old pro! I would make NO changes except I used toothpicks that were all different colors... (the blue ones left blue holes in the meat- beware!) The flavor was wonderful!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States