Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great recipe! I would add the tip that you may need to put foil down on the grill. My backstrap was falling apart even tied together with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I gave it four stars, it was good but I guess I was expecting a little more. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My favorite way of cooking venison.. To those who like heat, add some jalapenos inside the meat then wrap in bacon.> delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We've eaten venison in just about every way, and this was by far the best. It was a lot for 3 people, but there were no leftovers. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Wow! I mean Wow! I used apple juice and added just some salt and pepper and after I poured out the juice I wrapped the bacon with red onion and jalapeno slices and let the bacon marinade in the bbq sauce also. Grilled for 15-20 minutes and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Used this recipe and the venison came out GREAT. Left the venison chunks in the apple cider & barbecue sauce for about 6 hours each. Cooked until med-well. Keep an eye on the bacon when cooking, really flames up. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I didnt have apple cider, so i used olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper as my base marinade. marinaded for 2 hours each mix, and put on the grill at 400* for 11 minutes each side. perfectly medium rare. This venison tasted just like filet mignon. I wish i had a steady hunter to bring me more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Not for us! I like sweet flavors with some meats, such as pork and chicken, but the apple cider vinegar doesnt' belong with venison. We cooked some of our meat with seasonings/spices, and it was great. I followed this recipe to a "T" and couldn't eat it. It actually turned me off of venison for a while!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I let the venison sit overnight in the cider. That was really the only thing I did different with this recipe. Eventhough my wife does not eat deer meat, she ate two helpings of this. I couldn't seem to get it off the grill fast enough. I can honestly say that the entire family loves this and I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
First of all venison is for me is like going into uncharted territory. But this recipe did not disappoint, but I do believe I did overcook a wee bit. A few minor tweaks; meat was marinated in Italian dressing for most of the day, no apple cider in the house. Also since grilling was out of the question due to a snow storm, I baked them at 350 degrees, covered, for 45 minutes. No livery or gamey taste, quite tender, but not the medium rare doneness I was hoping for. I'd love to try this again using the grill. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States