Grilled Turkey Reuben Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I LOVE Reuben sandwiches and this was so good! I used reduced fat Swiss cheese and "Thousand Island Dressing" by Darlis Wilfer from this site. These were quick and easy and tasted great! This is a definite keeper and one I'll definitely have to remember for Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I am the writer of this recipe, and am so glad that others have enjoyed this as much as my family has. I will agree with other reviewers, that it is perfectly great to use a homemade thousand island dressing, if you don't have any storebought. I usually use a family recipe, which is very similar to Thousand Island Dressing II, but also adds a little grated onion. If you don't use all of the ingredients, feel free to freeze everything except the dressing for later use. If well packaged, the bread, sauerkraut, turkey, and cheese will all freeze perfectly for a second meal...then you just need the dressing! **On a side note, I kindly ask that if you are going to rate my recipe less than 5 stars, that you rate it based on following the recipe, not on crazy substitutions, or whether you think it is accurately named. ; ) This is my only frustration with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I've always made these on the lighter side by using fat free Thousand, one slice of swiss cheese per sandwich, and butter spray. It's a great, healthy alternative to the traditional Reuben! If you can't find marbled rye bread, plain rye or caraway rye will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Always thought it was called a "Rachel" when made with turkey instead of corned beef.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! I had to use Fat Free Creamy Cesar dressing because I did n't have any Thousand Island, and opted to use Pam spray to cut the fat and it turned out awesome. I love, love, love sauerkraut and by adding turkey to the sandwich made a perfect lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is surprisingly SO great! I really like reubens but NEVER make them at home. I basically never have corned beef or pastrami lying around, but I always have sliced turkey lunch meat and havarti. I was amazed at how the turkey stepped up to the job and the sandwich was just delicious! Thanks for this great idea on an old classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is my favorite sandwich, I have never been a fan of corn beef, but loved everything else about a reuben, now I can enjoy it with oven roasted turkey breast instead. I also use baby swiss for a milder flavor, it melts wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a Great recipe. I add a tsp of yellow mustard to the inside of the second slice and it is an awesome sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I have made for mu husbands poker club twice and the raved and raved. making the individual sandwiches with the party rye was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. I wanted something quick but full of flavor. This recipe did the trick. I made it just as described. My husband loved it so much, I had to make him another. He even asked if he could take one for lunch. We will definitely be having this again!%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gr8Kookin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States