Grilled Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This had a great, spicy flavor to it, but I did have a little trouble once I moved it to the grill, and admittedly, it was mostly my fault. I left the onion out of the recipe (allergic), so when I transferred it to the grill, there was no barrier. My turkey legs were blackened in under 10 minutes, the honey just went up. I'm thinking that the next time I make these, I may add a couple drops of liquid smoke and do the final run under the broiler. If I do on the grill again, I'll either put on foil, or cook over indirect heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great hit for Father's Day. The turkey legs were very tender. I rubbed them generously with Grill Master steak rub and placed them in a bag for 2 days. I also rinsed them off before boiling. When I placed the turkey legs on the grill I also brushed them with molasses, honey and barbeque sauce mixture, that really added to the taste and look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinalanderson
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Was ok. I guess I'm just not all that into red pepper as that ended up being the dominating flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These were just okay. I had been searching for a good leg recipe so I tried smoking smoke some the other day. They were really really good! Soaking the legs in a seasoned brine and smoking is the way to go if you want a really tasty turkey leg. Better then the ones you get at Disney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made this for the first time last night. Came out great! I'll make this one of my "go to" recipes when I don't smoke my turkey legs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I loved the crispiness from grilling these and the marinade was great...but for some reason my legs were dry. :( I feel like the time for boiling was too long. I know a lot of people love this so I will definitely try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Outstanding turkey legs! The flavor of the soda really soaks into them and the onions and makes it a delight to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe and it turned out great. THe turkey was very moist and tasty. very easy to make. Yum. It is a little on the spicy side so not great for small kids. ..**extra tip If you like spicy food, like I do, there is no reason to toss the sauce you cooked the chicken in. It smelled so good. I just threw a package of noodles and a can of cream of chicken soup in the remaining sauce. Boiled the noodles covered until tender. Add a cup or so of buttermilk. THrow in some veggies, and you have a easy meal. Wow! It was good! But SPICY! Beware. Next time I will add a little more milk and maybe only use half the sauce to cook for the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
best turkey legs yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
The interior meat did not have a lot of flavor. Reccommend basting it with honey while it grill. Made the skin crispy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States