Grilled Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Okay folks, lets get serious here. We have all had and loved the turkey legs from fairs, baseball parks, and amusement parks. Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando turkey legs are my favorite, not that they are any better mind you, I just like being at WDW and UO when I eat one! One thing all these legs have in common is that they taste like ham. I've tried this recipe. It is good but not what we are looking for. The only way to get turkey to taste like ham is to cure it and smoke it. All the soda pop and spices in the world will not render the same flavor and texture as what we want and get from "those" places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I made 24 legs yesterday to sell for a church festival, everyone LOVED them! As always, I changed up the recipe a bit: Marinate the legs liberally with steak seasoning overnite, rinse before boiling. Glaze the legs with a mixture of honey, molasses, & a little BBQ sauce. I also, slow cooked in the oven all afternoon which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Really liked this recipe a lot! Unlike a previous reviewer, I really don't like the "carnival" drumsticks, so I was not looking for that flavor. I had purchased turkey drumsticks on a whim, looking for something different for dinner. Once I got them home, I had no idea what to do with them, found this recipe and it is definitly a keeper. It has a nice bite to it, but not overwhelming. The turkey was moist and tender, but the grill was a mess :) Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I seriously make these on a weekly basis. Turkey legs are so cheap. My husband takes the onions that are cooked in with the legs over mash potatoes. Its good but those onions are super spicy. They taste very similar to the ones you get at the fairs but a whole lot better. The spiciness of the red pepper and the sweetness of the honey..just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This was fabulous! My husband and I both loved it! No leftovers...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
These were yummy...for ADULTS! Kids won't touch it because of the red pepper flakes. Simply omit these for a more bland, but kid-friendly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked these but the smell of hot sprite was... interesting but quickly dissipated after turning it off so don't let it deter you from trying it out. I would recommend cutting into your legs a little bit before boiling that way the inside of the legs get the same kind of marinade on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My family and friends loved this recipe. The only thing I will do different is a little less red pepper. It was a bit spicy for me , but everyone else at our New Years party loved them. Easy four 1/2 stars from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Smithville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Only the outer grilled meat tasted good. Maybe if it were boiled for less time and grilled more. Also, maybe if it were marinated with some liquid smoke. I'll not be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
We love this! Even my kids like it. I did it with chicken quarters. I omitted the onions, haven't figured out how to do this without making a total mess of the grill. Will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States