Grilled Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Our grill ended up catching on fire (time to clean it!!) so ours were a bit crispy, but the inside was still surprisingly moist and tasty. While I don't agree that they taste anything like the turkey legs you might get an amusement park or fair, I enjoyed them. The cooked onions might be tasty over mashed potatoes as a handy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Our local grocery store only had smoked turkey legs available. This had the advantage of giving the inner meat nice flavor, but the disadvantage of being more dry after boiling and grilling. I look forward to comparing the smoked legs with the recipe the way it was intended. The outer part of the legs had a nice flavor with the red pepper and honey contrasting each other and the crispy grilled outside. This recipe is in our folder for regular use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Arrowood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
A great basic, what to do with these things. There are all kinds of personal adjustments that can be made. The idea is what is special...try this with smoked drumsticks, or smoked wings, cut the tips off the wings and you get a smaller white meat drumstick. Adust the 'boil time' for flavor only. It is fun and low cost. I will try it with a 'salsa' type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
made 3 changes: reduced soda to 2x12 oz bottles of organic soda sweetened with stevia AND used chicken legs. I doubted the skin would crisp up on the grill, so I de-skinned the legs before braising. Otherwise, this was easy and pretty tasty; I liked it. If I could find stevia-sweetened root beer or Dr. P., I would love it. I think the spicier taste would stand up to adding a chipotle, which is my favorite hot stuff. In conclusion, A nice recipe; thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not the best recipe around. Too sweet. A little tough for turkey legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I seriously make these on a weekly basis. Turkey legs are so cheap. My husband takes the onions that are cooked in with the legs over mash potatoes. Its good but those onions are super spicy. They taste very similar to the ones you get at the fairs but a whole lot better. The spiciness of the red pepper and the sweetness of the honey..just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked these but the smell of hot sprite was... interesting but quickly dissipated after turning it off so don't let it deter you from trying it out. I would recommend cutting into your legs a little bit before boiling that way the inside of the legs get the same kind of marinade on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
i did these up using apple cider instead and marinated them in it first-yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These were OK, but they did have a strange flavor I didn't particularly care for. Not terrible, but I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This were very good....hot n spicy....perfect. I loved the flavor...i used canned chipolte peppers in the bbq sauce...my nose was running from the heat but delicious non the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States