Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is an AAWESOME recipe - so quick and easy to make and yet absolutely gourmet in taste!! I made two small changes to the recipe, out of necessity: had no capers on hand so substituted small quartered olives (rinsed and patted dry) and broiled the tuna rather than barbecuing it. The flavour was absolutely delicious - the fresh parsley/grapes was so fresh tasting. The olives worked really well as a substitute (although I am looking forward to trying it again with the capers). (One word of caution - be careful not to overcook the tuna as it dries out) Thanks Drew for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Delicious summer recipe. The salsa is fantastic with the lightly marinated tuna steak done medium or medium rare. Highly recommended with steamed veggies and a chilled glass of riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellent! - surprising and unique flavor combo. Even 2-3 minutes per side was a bit too much if you want it medium rare - depends on how thick your fish is. Thanks for submitting this creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I really loved this combination of grapes and capers. It was the first time I prepared tuna steaks and I was afraid of undercooking. I will follow recipe /cooking time exactly next time. They were still delicious. My husband and son liked the meal, not as much as I did but they are hard to please so I considered this a success. We will have this again. I will also use the caper/grape combination on salmon which I prepare often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Must admit that I was a little concerned about the combination of grapes and capers. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The sweet and briny flavors come together very nicely. The only thing I would do different is quarter the grapes instead of halving them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
What a fantastic summer dish. I really liked the combo of the grapes, shallots and capers: alternatively sweet, salty and sharp. This recipe is really about the salsa, because it could be just as easily used on salmon, swordfish, chicken, maybe even pork. I look forward to introducing this simple recipe to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yum Yum! This is the first time I've worked with tuna steaks and like others I overcooked em a bit but this was still really good. I loved the salsa, I kept eating it by itself. I served it alongside some grilled cheesy polenta, the combo was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
wow! this is a keeper. I followed the recipe faithfully and I'm glad I did. Important to half the grapes, otherwise kinda hard to eat whole grapes using fork. I grilled our tuna, but I can see using any kind of white fish, either grilled or pan fried. EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I only checked this recipe originally due to the strange sounding ingredients, but the reviews convinced me to try it. I subbed green grapes for red, and a little onion/garlic for the shallot. I pan seared the tuna and served with quinoa. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I wasn't a big fan on the tuna, but the salsa was better than I expected. Maybe the tuna I had wasn't a good enough quality? Just was kind of blah for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States