Grilled Tropical Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Fixed it with apricot preserves and thought it needed to be sweeter. Will definately fix it again using pineapple or some sweeter tropical preserves. I also think we cooked it too long and slightly underdone would have made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is the only way I make tuna steaks! excellent recipe, and I've even managed to impress people with it. even good in the middle of winter cooked on a frying pan instead of a grill. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
this was a recreation of what we paid $26/per plate at a fancy resteraunt! (at home cost $6 pp) Awesome! Served with steamed asperagus & wild rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made this with Apricot-Pineapple preserves as that's all I could find at the store, and I increased the amount of fresh cilantro. I marinated the fish (a shark steak) for two hours, which was perfect for us. The shark had a super firm/ dense texture which I wasn't especially crazy about, but the flavors came together really well. I reserved a couple of Ts of marinade to pour over the cooked fish. Served it over soba noodles with sesame green beans. Not bad at all. Thanks, dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very nice! We're big tuna steak fans, so I decided to rescue this from my recipe box. The weather warmed up enough for us to grill outdoors, using cedar planks to add additional flavor. We used apricot preserves. I might cut the amount back next time, but all in all, this was a quick, easy dinner served alongside a tossed salad. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because our guests said they're tuna steaks turned out perfectly. The one my husband and I shared was the one that fell apart on the grill. I think we'll try this again, and not marinate it so long. I've learned you're not supposed to marinate fish for a long time or it can make it tough. Anyway, the flavors in this dish were great! Worth a second try for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Great! I used apricot-pineapple preserves bc that's what I had. The marinade is awesome - I used about 2/3 of it to marinate and saved 1/3 to glaze the fish after cooking. Also added a little chili oil, since we like heat - but the flavor is perfect as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Probably one of the best pieces of marinated fish I've ever enjoyed! Tender, flaky and very tasty. I think it would also make a wonderful marinade for chicken or pork. I'll have to try it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Tried this last night.I had bluefin tuna right off the fishing boat.Wasn't sure if I would like this marinade,but am really glad I tried it. It came out great.I did however make two small changes,I used crushed pineapple,because I didn't have preserves ,and because I don't like sesame oil,used regular olive oil.It was grilled to just rare and served over a salad with a light lime vinaigrette.I am sure this recipe will stay in my recipe box and used regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this recipe with a few changes to work with the ingredients that I had in my kitchen. I used apricot preserves, lemon instead of lime juice, olive oil instead of sesame and I didn't use fresh cilantro or ginger (I used spices from a jar). The marinade was very tasty. Unfortunately my fish turned out dry. I think I may have cooked it a little long? I also broiled the fish instead of grilling- that may have been a factor? Overall I think this is a good recipe- I'm unsure if I will try it again. My kids (ages 7, 4 & 1) weren't thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States