Grilled Tri-tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is fantastic! We used a smaller size roast (1.5lbs) and it took about an hour. It can dry out easy so don't overcook. About 160 or 165 is about right. We paired this meat with the Tasty Green Beans recipe on here and the two flavors melted together so nicely. My 7 yr old was the first to comment on how the flavors complimented each other, and he was right. Definitely a keeper! If you want to try one and don't have time to marinade it, buy one from the store already marinated. Or if you don't want to grill, put roast in the oven at 450 for about 10 minutes, than lower to 350 and cover with aluminum foil. You can take off foil for the last 10 mins if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was an easy, extremely tasy, meal we shared at a recent gathering of friends. The meat was very tender and made a wonderful sandwich served on rolls with homemade horseradish sauce. The only thing I would do differently is cook two....so we could have leftovers.I will be making this meal often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
First thing you don't have to cook this 4-6 hours. Ours was done in 2 1/2 hours. So check yours at least 1/2 through. Remember to add beef broth or water to the drip pan, otherwise all the flavorful drippings will burn up before the roast is done. Once the roast was done, I added minced garlic, 1/4 cup of red wine, and 1/2 beef broth to the drippings and reduced to 1/2 for the au jus. Fantastic sandwiches with grilled onions and mushrooms with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
this was the first time we tried to grill roast a cut of any kind of meat. We also added the smoke of hickory chips and it turned out fabulous! For the smoking, just get the chips after soaking and put on a piece of heavy duty aluminum foil, fold and seal into a packet by crimping all the open edges. Be sure to poke holes in the foil to let the smoke out. Place this directly on the coals while cooking. Be sure to set the vents in the lid opposite the coals and over the meat to draw the smoke to and over the meat. We used a Weber "Little Smokey Joe", about 19 in, in diameter. You can use any type wood you prefer, but a sweet wood works best for this recipe. Use an instant read thermometer to check the center of the meat for the proper temp depending on how like your meat done. We used a 2 lb. cut and it only took 2 hrs. figure about 1 hr. per pound (?) All in all, for a first time at grill smoking & roasting this turned out quite well, it may have been a first time, but it won't be the last. Thinking a pork loin roast next......?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good! Only had to cook it for 2 hours...the drippings were delicious! Added a little soy sauce and olive oil to the seasonings and made a marinade. We basted it every 20 minutes or so. MAKE SURE you add some liquid to your pan or your drippings will dry up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
FIRST TIME COOKING THE TRI TIP ROAST ON THE GRILL. I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS WITH ONLY ONE ADJUSTMENT. INSTEAD OF GARLIC POWER, I USED MINCED GARLIC. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AS DIRECTED, AND IT WAS DELIOUS !! MAKE SURE YOU WATCH IT TO NOT OVER COOK. WE LIKE OURS MED-RARE, AND IT ACTUALLY COOKED IN ABOUT 50 TO 55 MINUTES. I THINK ANY LONGER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TO DRY. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I added red wine and olive oil and bake the Tri tip for 30 to 40 mins at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I have used this recipe several times since I first came across it and it is definitely a keeper. I did what another reviewer suggested and made it into a marinade using Olive Oil, soy sauce and Red wine vinegar. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Like other reviewers, this was my first time grilling a roast, and I approached it with apprehension. I took the advice of other reviewers and marinated the roast (I punctured it several times to allow the marinade to penetrate faster) for 4 hours in a marinade of olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt & pepper and garlic, then seared it on the stove prior to putting it on the grill. I did the indirect heat method that other reviewers mentioned and since I didn't have wood chips, I poured the marinade over the rocks to add a little extra "smoky" flavor. I cooked it for 2 hours and it came out a perfect medium rare! The flavor was awesome!! My sons that usually have to put A1 sauce on all steaks ate it plain and came back for 3rds!! The meat was very tender and juicy with a fantastic flavor. I highly recommend this with the changes listed/suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very tasty. Surprisingly, my children actually ate this meat, and they aren't very fond of meat at all. As suggested by others, I marinated the meat overnight in 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, and 1 Tbsp soy sauce. Then, I rubbed the entire powder mixture on the meat. I didn't have garlic powder, so I used 3 teaspoons of garlic salt, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon pepper. I baked this at 350 for 1 hr 30 min. It was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States