Grilled Tri-tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was quite good. I combined some advice of others and marinated the meat for about 8 hours in 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, and 1 Tbsp soy sauce. My roast was only about 2 pounds, so I made the same amount of seasoning and rubbed 1/2 on the meat and then mixed the rest with the marinade. I baked this at 350 for 55 minutes rather than grilling it. It was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
First thing you don't have to cook this 4-6 hours. Ours was done in 2 1/2 hours. So check yours at least 1/2 through. Remember to add beef broth or water to the drip pan, otherwise all the flavorful drippings will burn up before the roast is done. Once the roast was done, I added minced garlic, 1/4 cup of red wine, and 1/2 beef broth to the drippings and reduced to 1/2 for the au jus. Fantastic sandwiches with grilled onions and mushrooms with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Thank for all the information in this section. I Grilled a Tri Tip for the first time today, and it looks awesome. I followed the "indirect heat" method, whereby I put the charcoals on one side of the grill and put the roast on the other side (actually, I had three tri tips). I also found an old pan and put it at the botton to use as a drip pan. I added about a cup of water to the pan to keep the drippings from drying out. I only cooked my roasts for 3.5 hours because I didn't want it to become too dried-out. As for the drippings, not much dripped down into the pan. However, after I let the roasts sit for about an hour, a ton of juice came out. I put that into a small 1 quart pot, added some soy sauce, 1/4 cup red wine, 1 teaspoon of minced garlic, and some salt... and heated it up and let it boil for a few minutes, to make the Au Ju sauce. After a little "tinkering", I got the perfect taste, but the sauce was a little bit lumpy. Since I didn't have any cheesecloth, I came up with a great idea to use a coffee filter to strain the Au Ju sauce. So I just put the filter into the filter cup, like I was making a single cup of coffee, and poured the sauce through. It took a while to get it all done, but the coffee filter got rid of all those specks of meat and fat, as well as the big chunks of garlic that was left over... and the end result was AWESOME. My Au Ju sauce was very clear, with a reddish hue to it. It looked like it was made in a restaurant, and the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We love tri-tip. 4-6 hours is way too long. Sear at a high heat then move to indirect heat. Depending on the size 1- 1 1/2 hours is plenty. Take of grill @ 130 deg. for med-rare. let stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is fantastic! We used a smaller size roast (1.5lbs) and it took about an hour. It can dry out easy so don't overcook. About 160 or 165 is about right. We paired this meat with the Tasty Green Beans recipe on here and the two flavors melted together so nicely. My 7 yr old was the first to comment on how the flavors complimented each other, and he was right. Definitely a keeper! If you want to try one and don't have time to marinade it, buy one from the store already marinated. Or if you don't want to grill, put roast in the oven at 450 for about 10 minutes, than lower to 350 and cover with aluminum foil. You can take off foil for the last 10 mins if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
FIRST TIME COOKING THE TRI TIP ROAST ON THE GRILL. I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS WITH ONLY ONE ADJUSTMENT. INSTEAD OF GARLIC POWER, I USED MINCED GARLIC. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AS DIRECTED, AND IT WAS DELIOUS !! MAKE SURE YOU WATCH IT TO NOT OVER COOK. WE LIKE OURS MED-RARE, AND IT ACTUALLY COOKED IN ABOUT 50 TO 55 MINUTES. I THINK ANY LONGER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TO DRY. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good! Only had to cook it for 2 hours...the drippings were delicious! Added a little soy sauce and olive oil to the seasonings and made a marinade. We basted it every 20 minutes or so. MAKE SURE you add some liquid to your pan or your drippings will dry up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was an easy, extremely tasy, meal we shared at a recent gathering of friends. The meat was very tender and made a wonderful sandwich served on rolls with homemade horseradish sauce. The only thing I would do differently is cook two....so we could have leftovers.I will be making this meal often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
this was the first time we tried to grill roast a cut of any kind of meat. We also added the smoke of hickory chips and it turned out fabulous! For the smoking, just get the chips after soaking and put on a piece of heavy duty aluminum foil, fold and seal into a packet by crimping all the open edges. Be sure to poke holes in the foil to let the smoke out. Place this directly on the coals while cooking. Be sure to set the vents in the lid opposite the coals and over the meat to draw the smoke to and over the meat. We used a Weber "Little Smokey Joe", about 19 in, in diameter. You can use any type wood you prefer, but a sweet wood works best for this recipe. Use an instant read thermometer to check the center of the meat for the proper temp depending on how like your meat done. We used a 2 lb. cut and it only took 2 hrs. figure about 1 hr. per pound (?) All in all, for a first time at grill smoking & roasting this turned out quite well, it may have been a first time, but it won't be the last. Thinking a pork loin roast next......?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States