Grilled Tri-Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe has made my tri tip that I grill on the barbque a great hit. The only adjustment I made was to mix the ingredients together with olive oil and rub it into the meat and then place it in a plastic ziplock bag in the refrigerated for about two hours. Then I add some beer in the bag to help tenderize the meat. My husband and kid always brag about my Tri-Tip:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe, but searing does not "lock in juices". You actually lose juice, but you gain flavour from the browning of the meat, caused by high heat and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I cook this at home all the time. The best way to do it is to mix all the seasonings you want into one cup of olive oil( I ususually use garlic salt, montreal steak seasoning and pepper). Place the roast in a zip lock back, add the oil mix and refridgerate or 24 hrs. Comes out amazing. You can bake it to your liking then broil top part for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Page, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Tri-tips can be purchased at Costco. This is a great cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
8 years ago I had this receipe for a 5 pound roast and lost it. I'm so glad to see it again because I couldn't remember the seasoning: Any 5# roast; grill on highest for 5 minutes turning once; turn grill down to lowest and roast for 45 minutes. Remove from grill, wrap in foil (put some butter on top of meat) and let sit for 5 minutes. I'm sooo happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Simple to prepare and delicious! I'm going to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time; it's a bit salty as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
We have made this for years and it does impress guests. We don't use garlic salt, we use garlic powder. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I have to avoid salt, so I use NO salt when I grill meat. Omit salt altogether. In the place of salt and pepper, use Lawry's Seasoned Pepper Colorful Coarse Blend. It's one of the few seasoned peppers that contains no salt, and lots of flavor. Just sprinkle it over the meat, both sides, along with granulated garlic--you don't need the quantities recipe calls for to get good flavor. You will be surprised how you won't miss the salt at all... As for the temp, I usually take my tri-tip off the grill when it reaches 120-125 degrees F. If you wait till 145, and also cover with foil, expect medium, not med rare..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
5 stars with less salt. I also added some Montreal grill seasoning after inserting the garlic cloves and rubbing down with some olive oil. I prepped it early in the morning and let it sit probably 10 hours. The key is to grill it to medium rare and let it rest 20-30 min. before slicing against grain. We love Tri- tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I used this method for grilling my tri-tip; I had to use less of the seasonings because my tri-tip was pre-seasoned with Pappy's but I always like more garlic... The resting was very important before cutting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States