Grilled Tri-Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe has made my tri tip that I grill on the barbque a great hit. The only adjustment I made was to mix the ingredients together with olive oil and rub it into the meat and then place it in a plastic ziplock bag in the refrigerated for about two hours. Then I add some beer in the bag to help tenderize the meat. My husband and kid always brag about my Tri-Tip:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I would have given it 5 stars but TOO MUCH SALT. Two Tbs. salt is plenty for this rub and use garlic powder not garlic salt, no need to salt it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe, but searing does not "lock in juices". You actually lose juice, but you gain flavour from the browning of the meat, caused by high heat and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My husband and I really liked this. But it is a bit salty. I would cut down the salt next time. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Way Too Much Salt! The outer portion of the meat is like a salt lick! I agree with others in cutting down the amount of salt and using garlic powder instead. Otherwise meat was nice and garlic cloves extruded flavor throughout roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Tri-tip is an excellent choice for BBQ. Once you have grilled it, let it rest for about 10 mins. The MOST IMPORTANT step for delicious tender tri-tip is to cut it perpendicular to the grain of the meat, NOT with the grain. One reviewer mentioned her meat was tough, maybe it was cut with the grain?. Next time try cutting the tri-tip perpendicular to the grain, you'll be pleased with its tenderness. As others mentioned too much salt and no directions on cutting the meat. That's why I gave it 2 stars. If you follow these simple steps you will become a fan of grilled tri-tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
5 stars with less salt. I also added some Montreal grill seasoning after inserting the garlic cloves and rubbing down with some olive oil. I prepped it early in the morning and let it sit probably 10 hours. The key is to grill it to medium rare and let it rest 20-30 min. before slicing against grain. We love Tri- tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
TOO SALTY...maybe if substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I used this method for grilling my tri-tip; I had to use less of the seasonings because my tri-tip was pre-seasoned with Pappy's but I always like more garlic... The resting was very important before cutting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this was good, but I altered it. I didn't put the 1/3 cup of salt in. I used a 1/3 cup of garlic salt and pepper. The roast was a like tough, it might be great on a different type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States