Grilled Tri-Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My husband and I really liked this. But it is a bit salty. I would cut down the salt next time. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I would have given it 5 stars but TOO MUCH SALT. Two Tbs. salt is plenty for this rub and use garlic powder not garlic salt, no need to salt it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this was good, but I altered it. I didn't put the 1/3 cup of salt in. I used a 1/3 cup of garlic salt and pepper. The roast was a like tough, it might be great on a different type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe has made my tri tip that I grill on the barbque a great hit. The only adjustment I made was to mix the ingredients together with olive oil and rub it into the meat and then place it in a plastic ziplock bag in the refrigerated for about two hours. Then I add some beer in the bag to help tenderize the meat. My husband and kid always brag about my Tri-Tip:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
5 stars with less salt. I also added some Montreal grill seasoning after inserting the garlic cloves and rubbing down with some olive oil. I prepped it early in the morning and let it sit probably 10 hours. The key is to grill it to medium rare and let it rest 20-30 min. before slicing against grain. We love Tri- tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I used this method for grilling my tri-tip; I had to use less of the seasonings because my tri-tip was pre-seasoned with Pappy's but I always like more garlic... The resting was very important before cutting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe, but searing does not "lock in juices". You actually lose juice, but you gain flavour from the browning of the meat, caused by high heat and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
TOO SALTY...maybe if substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Way Too Much Salt! The outer portion of the meat is like a salt lick! I agree with others in cutting down the amount of salt and using garlic powder instead. Otherwise meat was nice and garlic cloves extruded flavor throughout roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
We have made this for years and it does impress guests. We don't use garlic salt, we use garlic powder. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States