Grilled Tri-Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WAY TOO SAtLTY. I had to make a gravy to offset the taste. This was a bit too rare for my family, so I had to put it back on the grill after slicing. But the meat was extremely tender. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovableLeaLea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Tri-tips can be purchased at Costco. This is a great cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Simple to prepare and delicious! I'm going to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time; it's a bit salty as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
8 years ago I had this receipe for a 5 pound roast and lost it. I'm so glad to see it again because I couldn't remember the seasoning: Any 5# roast; grill on highest for 5 minutes turning once; turn grill down to lowest and roast for 45 minutes. Remove from grill, wrap in foil (put some butter on top of meat) and let sit for 5 minutes. I'm sooo happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I make a marinade of chopped garlic, ginger, soy sauce and olive oil and marinate for couple hours minimum, even overnight. Always bring the steak to room temperature and cook 3 min per side....it is delish and as soft as butter...steak has to be pink inside. 10 min per side will result in piece of leather, not steak....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I cook this at home all the time. The best way to do it is to mix all the seasonings you want into one cup of olive oil( I ususually use garlic salt, montreal steak seasoning and pepper). Place the roast in a zip lock back, add the oil mix and refridgerate or 24 hrs. Comes out amazing. You can bake it to your liking then broil top part for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Page, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I have to avoid salt, so I use NO salt when I grill meat. Omit salt altogether. In the place of salt and pepper, use Lawry's Seasoned Pepper Colorful Coarse Blend. It's one of the few seasoned peppers that contains no salt, and lots of flavor. Just sprinkle it over the meat, both sides, along with granulated garlic--you don't need the quantities recipe calls for to get good flavor. You will be surprised how you won't miss the salt at all... As for the temp, I usually take my tri-tip off the grill when it reaches 120-125 degrees F. If you wait till 145, and also cover with foil, expect medium, not med rare..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Tri-tip is an excellent choice for BBQ. Once you have grilled it, let it rest for about 10 mins. The MOST IMPORTANT step for delicious tender tri-tip is to cut it perpendicular to the grain of the meat, NOT with the grain. One reviewer mentioned her meat was tough, maybe it was cut with the grain?. Next time try cutting the tri-tip perpendicular to the grain, you'll be pleased with its tenderness. As others mentioned too much salt and no directions on cutting the meat. That's why I gave it 2 stars. If you follow these simple steps you will become a fan of grilled tri-tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
We have made this for years and it does impress guests. We don't use garlic salt, we use garlic powder. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Way Too Much Salt! The outer portion of the meat is like a salt lick! I agree with others in cutting down the amount of salt and using garlic powder instead. Otherwise meat was nice and garlic cloves extruded flavor throughout roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States